First time BlackMagic user, seeking help w/ config

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author

krqenews

First time BlackMagic user, seeking help w/ config

PostSat Nov 07, 2020 12:03 am

Hey all. My name is Chris McKee and I'm a live stream producer / reporter over at KRQE News 13, the CBS News affiliated TV station in Albuquerque, NM.

To be clear, I'm not here for a story. I'm a news guy who's job is intersecting with a lot of computer stuff these days. For example, we're expanding into live streaming online-only news shows. Here's an example if you're curious: krqe.com/news/politics-government/elections/your-local-election-headquarters-digital-show-november-6/

I'm hoping the community might be able to give me a hand in where to start in understanding my Blackmagic card, and how to configure it. Why start here? I am having a hard time identifying and subsequently finding a user manual for my card, and my engineering team isn't sure which Blackmagic card I have.

What I'm using a Blackmagic card for? Mainly as a DeckLink from our in-house router with loads of video feeds and in-house graphics channels. It's also an output to our router, so we can record our shows to our station AVID system.

I believe I have what seems to be called a "DeckLink SDI" card - but I could be wrong. That's what I read in the "Blackmagic Desktop Video Setup" program. I'll attach a screen grab of what I am seeing.

The card has five BNC barrels on the back of it. I assume one of them is a reference channel. We have one input to the card and one output from the card.

Recently, I ran into an issue that I couldn't figure out. I was seeking a second video input into the device. However, when I plugged in that second input... that input created an input-output loop. So the second video input was looping straight back as an output. I can explain further, if needed.