Nikon Z6II

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

OutdBoxStudio

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 2:20 pm
  • Real Name: Brent Nora

Nikon Z6II

PostMon Jan 11, 2021 2:27 pm

Without the paid upgrade to record BlackMagicRaw to the Video Assist 3G from the Nikon Z6II, would the camera and monitor be compatible at all?

I want to get both the Nikon Z6ii and the BlackMagic Design Video Assist 7" 3G Recording Monitor but would be some time before I can pay for the firmware upgrade to be able to record using the new codecs.
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 12933
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Nikon Z6II

PostTue Jan 12, 2021 8:02 pm

Yes, you can still use the Nikon Z6 withnthe new VA 3G, you will be able to record ProRes files in both 8-bit and 10-bit output mode from the Z6 and new Z6II. You can later do the hardware upgrade to the Z6/Z6II to get BRaw recording capability.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests