Page 1 of 1

Video Assist record audio only?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 7:21 pm
by brianmadden
Hi Everyone!

I just bought a Video Assist 3G 7". Works great for video, but I also need to record some audio only and I was assuming I could use the Video Assist for this too (via the XLR inputs). But unfortunately, it looks like if there's no video signal present, then the video assist won't start recording. Anyone know if there's a way to use this for audio only? I'm trying to minimize my travel kit.

Thanks!
Brian

Re: Video Assist record audio only?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 9:53 pm
by Eric-Jan
put a "dummy" video signal on the video input ? like a live video source ? video camera ? or use one as passthrough ? a (video) ZOOM recorder ? maybe you already have a source in your kit which you can use, or one at the location you're at for that moment.

Re: Video Assist record audio only?

PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 6:24 am
by Denny Smith
Get a Black Burst generator to feed a video signal, then you can record audio. I used to do this with video tape decks for frame by frame editing, I used a black burst signal with a time code imbedded in it.
Cheers

Re: Video Assist record audio only?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2021 6:44 pm
by K1ttyKat
Couldn't you simply plug the video out to the video input and get a video signal like that? I'm sure you could route the audio so that you didn't get feedback.

Re: Video Assist record audio only?

PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2021 7:55 pm
by brianmadden
I can confirm that looping the video out to video in does not work. When attempted via SDI, it alternates every second between signal and none. And HDMI loop just shows no signal.

I know I can use an external box (or even an up/down/cross from the bag), but then I have to carry and power that too and it just adds to the complexity. I was hoping I could just get this thing to record audio without a video signal. Oh well, I understand that is not what this was designed to do.

Re: Video Assist record audio only?

PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2021 11:52 pm
by Eric-Jan
maybe you have a compact camera that has HDMI out, you can use ?

Re: Video Assist record audio only?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2022 9:05 am
by pimentas
I have the same wish!

It would be great if BMD would release a firmware update that included an audio-only recording option in the near future :)

Re: Video Assist record audio only?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 9:50 pm
by Eric-Jan
There are exixting recorders for that purpouse, which special audio functions that the Video Assist will not have, like Zoom etc.. i don't see any problem in this, and will have also sync options.