Frame size

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

grant.cahoon

  • Posts: 36
  • Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2021 6:14 pm
  • Real Name: Grant Cahoon

Frame size

PostTue Feb 23, 2021 8:59 pm

When importing videos from an iPhone, the image is only in the centre third of the screen with a large black area on the right and left of the image. Is there a way to adjust the image so that it takes up the whole screen thus illuminating the black on the left and right of the image?
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9575
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Frame size

PostWed Feb 24, 2021 7:04 am

Are you referring to DaVinci Resolve use?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 9416
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Frame size

PostWed Feb 24, 2021 7:15 am

What about defining a timeline with the right size?
Resolve Studio 17 and Fusion Studio 17 under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580 under Catalina 10.15.7
MacBook Air M1
Offline
User avatar

Sean Nelson

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2021 9:48 pm
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Real Name: Sean Nelson

Re: Frame size

PostWed Feb 24, 2021 8:01 am

It sounds to me like you're trying to import a video shot in portrait orientation into a project with landscape orientation. If you want the result of your project to also be in portrait mode then you need to configure that in your project settings when you first create the project. But if you really want the result to be in landscape mode then you have two choices:

- you can zoom in the footage so that its width fills the width of the project frame. This will cut large portions off the top and bottom of the footage.

- you can leave the footage as is but place it in front of a background that's either a static image or is the zoomed-in version described above. This will fill the frame with *something*, but the actual interesting stuff will still only fill a small portion of the landscape mode screen. This is the hazard of using footage that's in the wrong orientation for your project.
DR Studio 17(Release) Win10Pro 2004/19041.746 - Xeon E-2278G@3.4GHz, 64GB RAM
GeForce 1050Ti 4GB, "Studio" driver 457.30
OS,Library: 1TB NVMe - Project,Cache: 1TB NVMe
Offline

grant.cahoon

  • Posts: 36
  • Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2021 6:14 pm
  • Real Name: Grant Cahoon

Re: Frame size

PostFri Feb 26, 2021 1:31 am

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Are you referring to DaVinci Resolve use?



Yes, I am referring to DaVinci Resolve.
Offline

grant.cahoon

  • Posts: 36
  • Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2021 6:14 pm
  • Real Name: Grant Cahoon

Re: Frame size

PostFri Feb 26, 2021 1:44 am

I will try the zooming idea and see how that works. I looked at the setting preferences and don't see place to select "portrait" orientation or "landscape orientation". Where do you find that?
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 9416
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Frame size

PostFri Feb 26, 2021 2:43 am

Try Custom and type.
Resolve Studio 17 and Fusion Studio 17 under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580 under Catalina 10.15.7
MacBook Air M1

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot], jatinsoni, Jim Simon, SimonL94 and 98 guests