Any known compatibility issues with Intel MacOS 12.2.1?

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author

MissCatD

Any known compatibility issues with Intel MacOS 12.2.1?

PostSat May 13, 2023 12:31 pm

Good evening.

I am predictably a new user, and this is my first time using a Black Magic Design product. I have searched every corner of the internet for an answer to this dilemma, and have had no luck. All help is graciously appreciated.

First. I currently run an Intel-based Hackintosh/CustoMac. Details listed below and in attached screenshot...
CPU: Intel Core i7-6700k 4GHz Quad-Core
RAM: 16gb 3200 MHz DDR4
GPU: AMD Radeon RX 6800xt 16gb

My product specs include...
Product: Black Magic Design Intensity Pro 4K Capture Card
Driver Revision: Blackmagic_Desktop_Video_Macintosh_12.4.2
PCIe Slot: x4
Attached Devices: Nintendo Switch OLED / Samsung TV

So today, I received my 'Black Magic Design Intensity Pro 4K" capture card, plugged it into one of my PCIe x4 slots, booted up my computer, installed the latest listed version 12.4.2 drivers, adjusted the "Security & Privacy" settings, as instructed, and reboot. The card gets hot and its fan runs consistently, but so far no external video is being picked up in 3rd-parry software, and booting up 'Desktop Video Setup,' accomplishes nothing. I receive an exhausting, "No Desktop Video Device Detected." While having my Nintendo Switch OLED/Doc cabled to my HDMI input, and an external tv cabled to my HDMI output, I'm not even getting any passthrough video or audio.

Any information that I can find regarding even a similar issue appears to be exclusive to the Intensity Pro 4K's previous incompatibility with Big Sur, which is of course a bit dated, by now. I could attempt the manual Terminal fix to delete the associated BlackMagic Kext, but if there is a more updated and guaranteed solution that exists first, I rather not go messing around with kext files.