Atomos Comparison?

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

dazupixe

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:14 pm

Atomos Comparison?

PostThu Sep 13, 2012 10:43 pm

Hello, I'm new here at this forum and I am considering trying out the HyperDeck Shuttle but I have a couple of questions that aren't easily found in the website.

I have both the Ninja and the Samurai from Atomos, haven't used them yet but has anyone out there had experience with Atomos and compare it to the HyperDeck Shuttle?

I recognize the enormous price difference.

Are the SSD drives proprietary or can I use my own Crucial SSD's?

Does the HyperDeck Shuttle have playback monitor built in?
Offline
User avatar

Richard Crowley

  • Posts: 70
  • Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:21 am
  • Location: Portland Oregon USA

Re: Atomos Comparison?

PostFri Sep 14, 2012 5:59 am

Blackmagic Design publishes a list of compatible SSDs including some Crucial models.

http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support ... 968&os=win

As you can see from the product photos and specs, no there is no integral monitor.

http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/product ... ckshuttle/
Offline

dazupixe

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:14 pm

Re: Atomos Comparison?

PostFri Sep 14, 2012 5:47 pm

Thanks for the reply. And if my memory serves from the photos I looked at the unit it has loop through for both HDMI and HD-SDI, is that right?

With Atomos, you have to pick your flavor. Samurai for SDI, Ninja for HDMI.
Offline
User avatar

Joshua Helling

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 853
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:58 pm

Re: Atomos Comparison?

PostFri Sep 14, 2012 7:33 pm

Yup. and without a disk in it you can sub it in for a SDI to HDMI/SDI or HDMI to SDI/HDMI converter.

it also captures uncompressed.
Joshua Helling

Director of World Wide Support
Blackmagic Design Inc.
Offline
User avatar

Liam Kennedy

  • Posts: 2110
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:52 am
  • Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: Atomos Comparison?

PostFri Sep 14, 2012 7:36 pm

Joshua Helling wrote:Yup. and without a disk in it you can sub it in for a SDI to HDMI/SDI or HDMI to SDI/HDMI converter.


Holy Smokes!! I never even though of it for that (I didn't realize it would do that). It's hardly any more cost than the SDI/HDMI mini converter. I think I'll have two of them.
ATEM 1/ME, TVS, Hyperdeck Studio, Fujitsu Lifebook NH751 USB3
Offline
User avatar

Joshua Helling

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 853
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:58 pm

Re: Atomos Comparison?

PostFri Sep 14, 2012 8:06 pm

Yeah..it's a pretty flexible little box.
Joshua Helling

Director of World Wide Support
Blackmagic Design Inc.

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests