In-Camera Playback

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 31304
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

In-Camera Playback

PostThu May 09, 2024 6:03 pm

I'm having some trouble playing back clips in-camera on my P4K?

The 8.6 Beta firmware saw this corrected, but it also brought unwanted features and bugs, so I rolled back.

That the clips played fine with the Beta firmware tells me that the media card speed is not the issue. I'm currently trying to track down the conditions that don't work.

Anyone else have problems with in-camera playback?
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 31304
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: In-Camera Playback

PostThu May 09, 2024 9:00 pm

A bit more data.

Recording BRAW Q3, UHD, 24 fps.

Using this CFAST card, playback skips and stutters. To the point where the client can't review on set.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/ ... _525r.html

Using an older version of this SD card (rated at only (95 MB/s), playback works flawlessly. (Despite the SD card being SIGNIFICANTLY slower.)

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/ ... uhs_i.html


Gotta be a bug, right?
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 31304
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: In-Camera Playback

PostTue May 14, 2024 10:19 pm

Everyone else has perfect in-camera playback?
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.
Offline
User avatar

Phil999

  • Posts: 417
  • Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2019 11:12 am
  • Real Name: Philipp Straehl

Re: In-Camera Playback

PostThu May 16, 2024 8:24 am

yes. Although I mostly use external SSD's. With the internal V90 SD card (Hoodman Steel), playback is fine as well. Pocket 4k.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 31304
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: In-Camera Playback

PostFri May 17, 2024 1:20 am

I did notice nothing wrong with SD playback.

The issue is only with CFAST (which is even faster and should not have any trouble keeping up.)
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.
Offline

Mike Potton

  • Posts: 200
  • Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 11:19 pm

Re: In-Camera Playback

PostFri May 17, 2024 1:50 am

Are you trying to play back files shot on 8.6 on an earlier firmware? That might cause issues.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 31304
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: In-Camera Playback

PostFri May 17, 2024 3:26 pm

The first time, I was trying to play back on set, files that were recorded 2 minutes ago. So the firmware did not change between recording and playback.

Updating to the 8.6 Beta later on solved that playback issue, but it brought other bugs.

Currently I'm using 7.9.2, and the playback issue is there. UHD BRAW clips recorded on CFAST do not play back without issue. The same clips recorded to SD play back fine.

HD clips seem to play back fine from CFAST.
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.
Offline

Omar Mohammad

  • Posts: 258
  • Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2023 9:06 am
  • Location: Spain
  • Real Name: Omar Mohammad

Re: In-Camera Playback

PostSat May 18, 2024 8:31 am

No issues with my BMCC6K. I’m not using the beta firmware. It takes a bit to load files but it plays clips normally.
MacBook M3 Pro 16”, 18 GPU, 36GB RAM, 1TB | Sonoma 14.5
BMCC6K | Sigma 12-24 f4 | Canon 50 f1.8 | Sigma MC-21 | DJI RS4 Pro
DaVinci Resolve Studio 19 beta 3
Offline

Howard Roll

  • Posts: 2711
  • Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 7:50 am

Re: In-Camera Playback

PostSat May 18, 2024 11:58 am

Have you tested the card’s playback performance with a desktop?

Good Luck
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 31304
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: In-Camera Playback

PostSat May 18, 2024 7:01 pm

Howard Roll wrote:Have you tested the card’s playback performance with a desktop?
I did.

That and it working fine with the 8.6 Beta firmware is what makes me think there is a bug here.
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 47 guests