Timeline, playback and camera frame rate to fix shaky videos

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

phillyjoe

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2020 2:08 am
  • Real Name: Joe Giuliani

Timeline, playback and camera frame rate to fix shaky videos

PostWed Oct 14, 2020 2:33 am

Hi all, I'm trying to understand the difference/relationship between my camera's frame rate and the playback and timeline frame rate settings in Da Vinci Resolve.
The reason is because my footage is often shaky. I've researched the correct way to walk and hold the gimbal but it's still shaky and I wonder if it's because my frame rate settings are incorrect when I make the videos.
FYI I've tried shooting at 60 fps, shutter speed 1/125; and at 30 fps, shutter speed 1/60. Whichever I do, it is shaky so that's why I'm thinking my frame rates are off.
Also, I practiced the "gimbal walk" and how to properly balance the camera on the gimbal.
Any advice is very appreciated!
Offline
User avatar

robedge

  • Posts: 2000
  • Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:24 am
  • Location: U.S.
  • Real Name: Rob Edge

Re: Timeline, playback and camera frame rate to fix shaky vi

PostWed Oct 14, 2020 1:36 pm

Which camera and what lens/lens focal length or lengths are you using? Also, what’s your camera weight and which gimbal? A picture of the camera on the gimbal would help.
Image: Fujinon MK 18-55mm, Leica M primes, Pocket 4K

Sound: DPA & Schoeps mikes, Sound Devices recorder

Post Monitors: Eizo 27" UHD, Focal Solo6 Be
Offline

phillyjoe

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2020 2:08 am
  • Real Name: Joe Giuliani

Re: Timeline, playback and camera frame rate to fix shaky vi

PostWed Oct 14, 2020 3:00 pm

Hi Robedge, I'm using a Zhiyun Crane 2, a Canon 6d with a Sigma 15-30mm. I checked the weight specs; my rig, I think 7.1 lbs, is within capacity. Most shots are fairly wide, 17-20mm but also shoot some close to or at 30mm. Whatever focal length I shoot can end up shaky. But the shake only occurs when I take a step forward or back. Panning there is no shake. Also, there was one project I shot where the footage was perfect. Clip attributes and settings I believe were the same. Here is a picture of my rig
Attachments
20201014_105037.jpg
20201014_105037.jpg (94.83 KiB) Viewed 415 times
Offline
User avatar

robedge

  • Posts: 2000
  • Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:24 am
  • Location: U.S.
  • Real Name: Rob Edge

Re: Timeline, playback and camera frame rate to fix shaky vi

PostWed Oct 14, 2020 11:42 pm

phillyjoe wrote: I'm using a Zhiyun Crane 2, a Canon 6d with a Sigma 15-30mm.


Hi. This part of the forum is about Blackmagic cameras, not Canon or Sony or Nikon cameras. There is a sub-forum about DaVinci Resolve, though, if you think that would be helpful. If you're looking for advice on using a Canon 6D with a Zhiyun Crane 2, I'm pretty sure that there must be better places to ask for it.
Image: Fujinon MK 18-55mm, Leica M primes, Pocket 4K

Sound: DPA & Schoeps mikes, Sound Devices recorder

Post Monitors: Eizo 27" UHD, Focal Solo6 Be
Offline

phillyjoe

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2020 2:08 am
  • Real Name: Joe Giuliani

Re: Timeline, playback and camera frame rate to fix shaky vi

PostThu Oct 15, 2020 2:22 am

I'm not asking about gear at all. My question is about the relationship and difference between playback frame rate, timeline frame rate and frame rate when shooting. I've researched online and cannot find that info.

I listed my gear because you asked me to.

This is a blackmagic forum. Why would you direct me elsewhere?
Online

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10470
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Timeline, playback and camera frame rate to fix shaky vi

PostThu Oct 15, 2020 3:29 pm

OK, here you go:
As long as you want to shoot realtime, the frame rate in the camera and the one in the timeline should be identical.
Even if Resolve can handle a different frame rate in the timeline, it'll never look perfect sind frame will need to be dropped or additional ones generated.
If you want slo-mo, you can shoot with a higher frame rate and slow it down in the timeline. Ideally, every single frame should be used, so 60 fps for example should be slowed down to 50% for a 30 fps timline.
You can also change the frame rate in the Clip Attributes to the target rate.

That's all. No rocket science involved. If your videos are shaky, it has nothing to do with that.
Your hand or your support was shaking.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2.1 and Fusion Studio 17.2.1, macOS 11.3.1
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 11.3.1
Offline

drknsss

  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2021 2:46 am
  • Real Name: Gordon Culley

Re: Timeline, playback and camera frame rate to fix shaky vi

PostMon May 10, 2021 4:04 am

Are you having the same problem as shown in this video with the same gimbal?



This part of the forum is intended for Blackmagic Camera owners or renters but I agree that this issue has nothing to do with frame rates. That info can be found in the Post-production section of this forum. If you want to fix shaky video you can find some help there BUT if you have shaky video like in the video link above then it will be not so easy to fix in post.

I have an old Zhyun Gimbal and I had a similar issue with the P4K and pancake lens. It was a motor setting issue in the settings that was the problem.

I hope this helps

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests