BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Nick Gombinsky

  • Posts: 255
  • Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:30 pm
  • Location: Berlin, Germany

BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostWed Apr 21, 2021 8:22 pm

Hi all! After years of not owning a Blackmagic camera I'm back. Had many a few years ago.

I just bought the P6Kpro and have connected it through different HDMI cables to different computer monitors, and can't get a signal. Am I missing something? This camera doesn't even have an output option on the Monitor settings, so I can't be "accidentally sending out 4K to unsupported monitors" as it could happen with other cameras, this one is Full HD only. What am I missing?
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 1004
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostWed Apr 21, 2021 8:53 pm

the HDMI out is 1080p and the framerate is the project framerate
so if you have set the camera to 24 frames, the monitor must support 1080p24

25fps = 1080p25
30fps = 1080p30
....
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/4x4TB HGST/SSD7101A 4x2TB 970evoplus/HP1344/BMD4k/Radeon VII
macOS 11.2.3

BMPCC 6k pro (7.3.1)
BMPCC 4k (7.3)+ MB speedbooster ultra 0.71 (3.60)
resolve studio 17.2.2
Offline
User avatar

Nick Gombinsky

  • Posts: 255
  • Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:30 pm
  • Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostWed Apr 21, 2021 11:08 pm

Good one! I went back and just in case tried all frame rates... none worked. Thanks though
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 3663
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostThu Apr 22, 2021 4:02 pm

It should work with a TV at least.
I've found that some computer monitors are expecting interlaced signals only when they detect YPbPr/YUV HDMI signals looking like from a video source.
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline
User avatar

Johannes Jonsson

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 2:35 pm
  • Location: Iceland

Re: BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostThu Apr 22, 2021 5:19 pm

As Robert says. try a TV or camera monitor to confirm HDMI out put.
Computer monitors often do not work for so many reasons.
Johannes
Offline
User avatar

Nick Gombinsky

  • Posts: 255
  • Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:30 pm
  • Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostThu Apr 22, 2021 7:43 pm

Tried several monitors including a professional one, no dice. Going back to the store tomorrow. :cry:
Offline
User avatar

Nick Gombinsky

  • Posts: 255
  • Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:30 pm
  • Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostFri Apr 23, 2021 3:03 pm

The store tested my unit and couldn't get the HDMI to work, gave me a new one which works ;) just a lemon
Offline

John Brawley

  • Posts: 3083
  • Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:57 am
  • Location: Los Angeles California

Re: BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostFri Apr 23, 2021 8:07 pm

Nick Gombinsky wrote:The store tested my unit and couldn't get the HDMI to work, gave me a new one which works ;) just a lemon


Or....

Be careful, you may have “blown” the HDMI. It’s a common issue with some combinations of how you power the camera, especially when using multiple accessories powered from the same battery.

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=108135

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=124053&p=679828

JB
John Brawley ACS
Cinematographer
Currently - Los Angeles
Offline

Raskolnikov

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2021 4:25 pm
  • Real Name: Gianluca Minguzzi

Re: BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostMon Jun 21, 2021 7:01 pm

all the matter depends from the type of the monitor... some support frame rates till 50 fps, some others not. For example my Sony Bravia (10 years old television) keep up the signal from my Blackmagic Pro only if I set the camera to 24 FPS... too strange?
Offline

Raskolnikov

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2021 4:25 pm
  • Real Name: Gianluca Minguzzi

Re: BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostTue Jun 22, 2021 6:09 pm

Thanks to all that have given the right advice. Refresh frequency of the monitor is double the frame rate... this is the right answer. Thanks again

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests