Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

vivoices

  • Posts: 358
  • Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:15 am
  • Real Name: Udo Jansen

Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

PostThu Jun 24, 2021 8:04 pm

Blackmagic RAW 2.1 performs much slower on my system than Blackmagic RAW 2.0.

Perhaps someone knows why this could be?

Downgraded back to 2.0.
Udo Jansen

Win 10 Pro 20H2 19042.985, Resolve Studio 17.2.2 Build 4, R9 5950X, 128 GB RAM, Quadro P4000 (8GB VRAM) 471.41 NSD, 18TB SSDs, Intensity Pro 4K | Pocket6Ks FW7.3.0 | Speed Editor
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1891
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Hook

Re: Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

PostFri Jun 25, 2021 12:53 am

Hi, much slower in what use case? Can you give some specifics?
For the Blackmagic RAW Player or one of the plugins?

The Blackmagic RAW installer doesn't affect Resolve and the current shipping Resolve is still using 2.1 beta 4 but should get an update soon that will be using 2.1 GM.
**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**
Offline

vivoices

  • Posts: 358
  • Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:15 am
  • Real Name: Udo Jansen

Re: Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

PostFri Jun 25, 2021 8:27 am

I wasn't specific because I assume that the BRAW Speed Test that comes with the package is a reliable indicator of how well BRAW decodes no matter which in software.

So the BRAW Speed test shows the same results for my outdated GPU but shows two 8K indicators less for my really good CPU.
On version 2.0 all checker marks are green.
Udo Jansen

Win 10 Pro 20H2 19042.985, Resolve Studio 17.2.2 Build 4, R9 5950X, 128 GB RAM, Quadro P4000 (8GB VRAM) 471.41 NSD, 18TB SSDs, Intensity Pro 4K | Pocket6Ks FW7.3.0 | Speed Editor
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1891
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Hook

Re: Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

PostFri Jun 25, 2021 10:50 am

Can you post screenshots from both versions for us to evaluate?
**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**
Offline

vivoices

  • Posts: 358
  • Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:15 am
  • Real Name: Udo Jansen

Re: Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

PostFri Jun 25, 2021 6:46 pm

BRAW Speed Test Version 2.0
Speed_Test_Version_2.0.png
BRAW Speed Test Version 2.0
Speed_Test_Version_2.0.png (247 KiB) Viewed 745 times


BRAW Speed Test Version 2.1
Speed_Test_Version_2.1.png
BRAW Speed Test Version 2.1
Speed_Test_Version_2.1.png (246.64 KiB) Viewed 745 times
Udo Jansen

Win 10 Pro 20H2 19042.985, Resolve Studio 17.2.2 Build 4, R9 5950X, 128 GB RAM, Quadro P4000 (8GB VRAM) 471.41 NSD, 18TB SSDs, Intensity Pro 4K | Pocket6Ks FW7.3.0 | Speed Editor
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 14708
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

PostFri Jun 25, 2021 9:13 pm

Don’t know if it helps, but my 2.1 3:1 compression 6K CPU/6K Metal test:
6K CPU 95 fps
Will It Work all checked

6K Metal 200 fps
How Fast?
3:1 BRAW [bold]8K [/bold]
CPU 60 fps
Metal 128 fps

Machine Mac Pro 2019 16 core
AMD Radeon Pro Vega II 32GB

Compared to BRAW 2.0, the older version is slightly slower with CPU 92 fps and Metal 180 fps so I find both adequate for 6K but 8K CPU is only 59 fps and 8K Metal is only 117 fps.
Rick Lang
Offline

vivoices

  • Posts: 358
  • Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:15 am
  • Real Name: Udo Jansen

Re: Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

PostSat Jun 26, 2021 6:29 am

Thanks Rick.
Both your CPU and GPU are up to date.
In my case I thought the GPU might be a bottleneck, but CUDA performance has slightly improved with version 2.1, so no problem here.
I would not expect a newer version to be slower on CPU.

Even with my outdated GPU I can edit 6K multicam (grading after collapsing the MC tracks of course), so every frame counts.

I am not sure if the CPU BRAW performance has any impact at all on editing, grading and rendering in Resolve.
It might be better to wait for the next BRAW update with hopefully better performance on both CPU and GPU.
Udo Jansen

Win 10 Pro 20H2 19042.985, Resolve Studio 17.2.2 Build 4, R9 5950X, 128 GB RAM, Quadro P4000 (8GB VRAM) 471.41 NSD, 18TB SSDs, Intensity Pro 4K | Pocket6Ks FW7.3.0 | Speed Editor
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1891
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Hook

Re: Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

PostSat Jun 26, 2021 9:30 am

vivoices wrote:I am not sure if the CPU BRAW performance has any impact at all on editing, grading and rendering in Resolve.

It will only affect Resolve for you if you disable GPU in preferences, and again the Blackmagic RAW installer doesn't affect/touch Resolve anyway as Resolve bundles its own copy of the SDK. There were improvements made for footage from the 12K when doing CPU only decoding but it should not have affected CPU results you see in the Speedtest so we will look into it. Thanks.
**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**
Offline

vivoices

  • Posts: 358
  • Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:15 am
  • Real Name: Udo Jansen

Re: Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

PostSun Jun 27, 2021 7:38 am

CaptainHook wrote:It will only affect Resolve for you if you disable GPU in preferences,
MY CPU is performing better, by a lot with version 2.0.
So with my current system configuration I will get better performance if I disable the GPU in Resolve?
Udo Jansen

Win 10 Pro 20H2 19042.985, Resolve Studio 17.2.2 Build 4, R9 5950X, 128 GB RAM, Quadro P4000 (8GB VRAM) 471.41 NSD, 18TB SSDs, Intensity Pro 4K | Pocket6Ks FW7.3.0 | Speed Editor
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 14708
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

PostSun Jun 27, 2021 12:21 pm

No harm in disabling the GPU based on your CUDA BRAW 2.0 results until BMD advises us on the results of their investigation and incorporates the BRAW 2.1 algorithms in an update to Resilve.

On my system, the GPU outperforms the CPU 2:1 using Metal. I can use Activity Monitor to visualize the GPU performance. When processing 12K BRAW, my GPU can be near saturation.
Rick Lang
Offline

vivoices

  • Posts: 358
  • Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:15 am
  • Real Name: Udo Jansen

Re: Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

PostSun Jun 27, 2021 5:53 pm

I tried to disable the GPU in Resolve to get the better performance of my CPU, but Resolve does not allow to disable the only GPU in the system.

Bummer because I need to wait for the GPU price / supply situation to get better, even wait for a future RTX 4090 or so.
Udo Jansen

Win 10 Pro 20H2 19042.985, Resolve Studio 17.2.2 Build 4, R9 5950X, 128 GB RAM, Quadro P4000 (8GB VRAM) 471.41 NSD, 18TB SSDs, Intensity Pro 4K | Pocket6Ks FW7.3.0 | Speed Editor
Offline

John Brawley

  • Posts: 3082
  • Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:57 am
  • Location: Los Angeles California

Re: Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

PostSun Jun 27, 2021 7:03 pm

vivoices wrote:I tried to disable the GPU in Resolve to get the better performance of my CPU, but Resolve does not allow to disable the only GPU in the system.

Bummer because I need to wait for the GPU price / supply situation to get better, even wait for a future RTX 4090 or so.



I’m not really an expert but my understanding of Resolve is that it very heavily leans on GPU for overal
Performance. Seems like you’re looking at one test, design more to look at hard drive / IO performance that is outside of Resolve.

If you’re using Resolve I’m fairly sure that as soon as you start doing any process that involves computations (grading, NR etc) then these numbers don’t mean much. It’s the GPU not the CPU that does all the heavy lifting.

In other words inside Resolve you should try some simple tests and see if you’re noticing any differences there.

JB
John Brawley ACS
Cinematographer
Currently - Los Angeles
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1891
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Hook

Re: Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

PostMon Jun 28, 2021 1:43 am

vivoices wrote:I tried to disable the GPU in Resolve to get the better performance of my CPU, but Resolve does not allow to disable the only GPU in the system.

You can disable it for Blackmagic RAW use, if your CPU outperforms your GPU its worth trying and testing how it goes. Its the top option here in the screenshot:
Image
**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**
Offline

vivoices

  • Posts: 358
  • Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:15 am
  • Real Name: Udo Jansen

Re: Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

PostMon Jun 28, 2021 6:24 am

CaptainHook wrote:You can disable it for Blackmagic RAW use
Thanks, that is worth a try.
Udo Jansen

Win 10 Pro 20H2 19042.985, Resolve Studio 17.2.2 Build 4, R9 5950X, 128 GB RAM, Quadro P4000 (8GB VRAM) 471.41 NSD, 18TB SSDs, Intensity Pro 4K | Pocket6Ks FW7.3.0 | Speed Editor
Offline

vivoices

  • Posts: 358
  • Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:15 am
  • Real Name: Udo Jansen

Re: Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

PostMon Jun 28, 2021 7:01 am

With "Use GPU for Blackmagic RAW decode" disabled, playing back 6K BRAW clips with moderate 5 node grading (Primaries, Curves, Power Windows) still uses 49% GPU instead of the 17% for mxf files, but the CPU kicks in too.

I will be able to work like this until the hardware situation improves.

1. Is it possible to unload some noise reduction processing over to the CPU as well?
2. What is the benefit of installing the separate BRAW update if Resolve uses its own copy of the SDK?
CaptainHook wrote:as Resolve bundles its own copy of the SDK
Udo Jansen

Win 10 Pro 20H2 19042.985, Resolve Studio 17.2.2 Build 4, R9 5950X, 128 GB RAM, Quadro P4000 (8GB VRAM) 471.41 NSD, 18TB SSDs, Intensity Pro 4K | Pocket6Ks FW7.3.0 | Speed Editor
Offline
User avatar

carlomacchiavello

  • Posts: 1526
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:04 pm
  • Location: italy

Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

PostMon Jun 28, 2021 7:20 am

vivoices wrote:With "Use GPU for Blackmagic RAW decode" disabled, playing back 6K BRAW clips with moderate 5 node grading (Primaries, Curves, Power Windows) still uses 49% GPU instead of the 17% for mxf files, but the CPU kicks in too.

I will be able to work like this until the hardware situation improves.

1. Is it possible to unload some noise reduction processing over to the CPU as well?
2. What is the benefit of installing the separate BRAW update if Resolve uses its own copy of the SDK?
CaptainHook wrote:as Resolve bundles its own copy of the SDK
Braw installer install braw player, Adobe plug-in, avid plug-in for using braw external from resolve, if you not need braw player, and you use resolve, you not need to install braw in Os.


Inviato dal mio iPhone utilizzando Tapatalk
Offline

vivoices

  • Posts: 358
  • Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:15 am
  • Real Name: Udo Jansen

Re: Blackmagic RAW 2.1 slow

PostTue Jun 29, 2021 5:55 am

vivoices wrote:1. Is it possible to unload some noise reduction processing over to the CPU as well?
Udo Jansen

Win 10 Pro 20H2 19042.985, Resolve Studio 17.2.2 Build 4, R9 5950X, 128 GB RAM, Quadro P4000 (8GB VRAM) 471.41 NSD, 18TB SSDs, Intensity Pro 4K | Pocket6Ks FW7.3.0 | Speed Editor

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], ebkowmag867, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 22 guests