How to reset BM Pocket Cinema 4K

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Findi72

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2021 6:57 pm
  • Real Name: Jürgen Findeisen

How to reset BM Pocket Cinema 4K

PostMon Feb 15, 2021 7:17 pm

I have a problem. I have installed a new firmware on my camera. My computer crashed during the installation. So the installation also broke off. The camera has not started since then. The tally light flashes (white). A connection to the computer via USB is not possible. The camera setup shows: "No camera found". So I can't install an older version of the firmware either. Is there a trick to reset the camera to the factory settings using a combination of keys. Sorry, my English is not the best. I hope you find an answer.
Offline

Findi72

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2021 6:57 pm
  • Real Name: Jürgen Findeisen

Re: How to reset BM Pocket Cinema 4K

PostTue Feb 16, 2021 9:37 pm

The problem is solved. Thanks to the excellent support and to Jake Cook.
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 4170
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How to reset BM Pocket Cinema 4K

PostTue Feb 16, 2021 10:20 pm

Glad to hear that Jürgen!
Just in case someone stumbles over this thread via Google: the procedure is described here:
viewtopic.php?p=725588#p725588
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

AdrianFx360

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2022 10:05 am
  • Location: España
  • Real Name: Adrian Felipe Bueno Otero

Re: How to reset BM Pocket Cinema 4K

PostSun Aug 14, 2022 12:40 pm

Findi72 wrote:I have a problem. I have installed a new firmware on my camera. My computer crashed during the installation. So the installation also broke off. The camera has not started since then. The tally light flashes (white). A connection to the computer via USB is not possible. The camera setup shows: "No camera found". So I can't install an older version of the firmware either. Is there a trick to reset the camera to the factory settings using a combination of keys. Sorry, my English is not the best. I hope you find an answer.


Hello!! how did you solve it?
Rock, Digital Marketing & Audiovisual Projects
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 4170
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How to reset BM Pocket Cinema 4K

PostMon Aug 15, 2022 3:49 pm

AdrianFx360 wrote:
Findi72 wrote:I have a problem. I have installed a new firmware on my camera. My computer crashed during the installation. So the installation also broke off. The camera has not started since then. The tally light flashes (white). A connection to the computer via USB is not possible. The camera setup shows: "No camera found". So I can't install an older version of the firmware either. Is there a trick to reset the camera to the factory settings using a combination of keys. Sorry, my English is not the best. I hope you find an answer.


Hello!! how did you solve it?


Have you read the whole thread?
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

AdrianFx360

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2022 10:05 am
  • Location: España
  • Real Name: Adrian Felipe Bueno Otero

Re: How to reset BM Pocket Cinema 4K

PostMon Aug 15, 2022 5:12 pm

Robert Niessner wrote:
AdrianFx360 wrote:
Findi72 wrote:I have a problem. I have installed a new firmware on my camera. My computer crashed during the installation. So the installation also broke off. The camera has not started since then. The tally light flashes (white). A connection to the computer via USB is not possible. The camera setup shows: "No camera found". So I can't install an older version of the firmware either. Is there a trick to reset the camera to the factory settings using a combination of keys. Sorry, my English is not the best. I hope you find an answer.


Hello!! how did you solve it?


Have you read the whole thread?


Yes, I have tried the trick you are talking about, but it didn't work for me. Thank you!
Rock, Digital Marketing & Audiovisual Projects
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 15658
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: How to reset BM Pocket Cinema 4K

PostMon Aug 15, 2022 5:41 pm

Sorry, I can’t speak from personal experience on this problem, but I’d see if you can fool the camera setup program.

Begin by reinstalling the latest camera setup for your camera:
Be sure to delete the current camera setup using the delete icon after unzipping the latest camera setup download.
Then install and open the new camera setup app.
Then turn your camera On and give it some time to restart.
Then connect your USB cable to the camera and the computer with a cable that you are very confident it works well.
Then see if you can start the camera setup app’s update function even if it doesn’t see the camera! Be patient to wait a couple of minutes at least as you won’t know if it’s working in the background.

This may take a few attempts with some variation in the sequence of steps. I remember vaguely ages ago someone did get the camera firmware to update even though it appeared not to be happening.
Rick Lang
Offline

AdrianFx360

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2022 10:05 am
  • Location: España
  • Real Name: Adrian Felipe Bueno Otero

Re: How to reset BM Pocket Cinema 4K

PostMon Aug 15, 2022 6:00 pm

rick.lang wrote:Sorry, I can’t speak from personal experience on this problem, but I’d see if you can fool the camera setup program.

Begin by reinstalling the latest camera setup for your camera:
Be sure to delete the current camera setup using the delete icon after unzipping the latest camera setup download.
Then install and open the new camera setup app.
Then turn your camera On and give it some time to restart.
Then connect your USB cable to the camera and the computer with a cable that you are very confident it works well.
Then see if you can start the camera setup app’s update function even if it doesn’t see the camera! Be patient to wait a couple of minutes at least as you won’t know if it’s working in the background.

This may take a few attempts with some variation in the sequence of steps. I remember vaguely ages ago someone did get the camera firmware to update even though it appeared not to be happening.


hello! In my case it is that the usb port does not work. The ssd does not recognize me and when connecting to the pc it does not react. Even if I tried to turn on while pressing the focus button.

my intention is to connect my camera to the ssd to film. :(
Rock, Digital Marketing & Audiovisual Projects
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 4170
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How to reset BM Pocket Cinema 4K

PostMon Aug 15, 2022 6:13 pm

AdrianFx360 wrote:hello! In my case it is that the usb port does not work. The ssd does not recognize me and when connecting to the pc it does not react. Even if I tried to turn on while pressing the focus button.

my intention is to connect my camera to the ssd to film. :(


Then you are having a completely different problem scenario then the original topic poster.

If you are looking for help, then you need to go more into the details of your problem, which hardware you are using and what exactly in which step you did.
Otherwise you are asking us to somehow read your mind - which unfortunately is still not possible - but we are working on it ;-)
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

AdrianFx360

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2022 10:05 am
  • Location: España
  • Real Name: Adrian Felipe Bueno Otero

Re: How to reset BM Pocket Cinema 4K

PostMon Aug 15, 2022 6:35 pm

I prefer to communicate with technical support. Thanks!
Last edited by AdrianFx360 on Tue Aug 16, 2022 9:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
Rock, Digital Marketing & Audiovisual Projects
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 4170
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How to reset BM Pocket Cinema 4K

PostMon Aug 15, 2022 7:03 pm

AdrianFx360 wrote:From the beginning I noticed a certain hostility in you although I don't understand why, I don't know you. but I'll explain: I asked the person who started the thread, because just like me, his USB port was not connected, and it's the same problem that I have - "A connection to the computer via USB is not possible. The camera setup shows: "No camera found. So I can't install an older version of the firmware either. "- and I wanted to know what you did to solve your problem in case your solution could work for me. My camera is a bmpcc 4k and the firmware is 7.3. But thanks, as I see that you are a gentleman (ironically), I prefer to communicate with technical support. Thanks!


Look - maybe you try to see this from my perspective: there is a user posting one sentence asking a question which already has been answered. Interpretation: didn't care to read but expects help.
You did not say that you have already tried the steps. Neither did you give any other information.

Then you tell that the USB port doesn't work. And that an SSD isn't recognized and your PC doesn't see "it" (are you talking about the SSD or the camera). Then you say your intention is to use the SSD with the camera for recording.

How on earth should any reader of your text know why there is any connection to the problem of the topic poster?

You did not tell which SSD.
You did no tell if you tested other cables.
You did not tell if your PC recognizes the SSD.
You did not tell that you attempted to upgrade/downgrade your camera firmware.

When getting asked for details, you start to get picky. I mean, can you even reflect a little bit about how you came over to other people who cannot see you, what you are doing and without any technical details, but try to help?

I am here since 2013 and I've helped really a lot of people. I like to help. Helping costs me time. But what really bugs me are people who waste my time because they can't put a tiny bit of thought into writing out their problem.
I do this in my spare time, for people I have never seen before. So just respect the time of others trying to help. I don't think this is too much to ask.
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

AdrianFx360

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2022 10:05 am
  • Location: España
  • Real Name: Adrian Felipe Bueno Otero

Re: How to reset BM Pocket Cinema 4K

PostMon Aug 15, 2022 7:50 pm

00
Last edited by AdrianFx360 on Tue Aug 16, 2022 9:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
Rock, Digital Marketing & Audiovisual Projects
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 4170
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: How to reset BM Pocket Cinema 4K

PostMon Aug 15, 2022 8:22 pm

It seems that your ability to empathize with others is rather weak. I tried to explain to you why your posting was not understandable and how it was received by others. It seems that you still do not care. I am sorry for that.

I probably know the solution to your problem, but based on your strange behavior, I guess you will have to wait for someone else to help you. Good luck.
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 15084
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: How to reset BM Pocket Cinema 4K

PostTue Aug 16, 2022 7:08 am

I suggest you try technical support, since your problem is different from the thread starter's one.

With that attitude towards one of our most helpful and knowledgeable forum members you won't get far here. He was asking very valid questions to be able to help.
The software may be free, but the hardware needed for smooth performance is not.

Resolve Studio 18.0.3 , MacOS 12.6
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM
and
iMac 2017, Radeon 580, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor
Offline

AdrianFx360

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2022 10:05 am
  • Location: España
  • Real Name: Adrian Felipe Bueno Otero

Re: How to reset BM Pocket Cinema 4K

PostTue Aug 16, 2022 9:04 am

Delete my comments because they don't help anyone and I recommend you do the same if you really want to help someone who needs to know.

In my particular case I have sent my usb port to be repaired. Peace people.
Rock, Digital Marketing & Audiovisual Projects
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 15658
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: How to reset BM Pocket Cinema 4K

PostTue Aug 16, 2022 1:53 pm

Rick Lang

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Chris Shivers and 17 guests