Question for the BM tech guys

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Henchman

  • Posts: 501
  • Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:43 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Mark Hensley

Question for the BM tech guys

PostWed Dec 07, 2022 5:02 pm

I'm using the 5" 12G video assist to record BRAW over HDMI from the Zcam f6.
Problem is, it's not seeing either timecode or a record command from the camera.

Having used an atomos to record prores raw over, this problem didn't exist.


Would the problem lie on the side of the ZCAM or the BM video assist.
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0972296/
Offline

mickspixels

  • Posts: 210
  • Joined: Tue May 17, 2022 10:29 pm
  • Location: Western Europe
  • Real Name: Michael David Murphy

Re: Question for the BM tech guys

PostThu Dec 08, 2022 7:29 pm

Seeing as you have not had an answer yet, for what it's worth, it is possible to trigger recording with timecode from a Nikon Z6II and the 5" 12G Video Assist with exactly the same settings on camera as with the Ninja V. On the VA you need to set Timecode Input to Video Input for this to work.
Offline

Henchman

  • Posts: 501
  • Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:43 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Mark Hensley

Re: Question for the BM tech guys

PostThu Dec 08, 2022 7:35 pm

mickspixels wrote:Seeing as you have not had an answer yet, for what it's worth, it is possible to trigger recording with timecode from a Nikon Z6II and the 5" 12G Video Assist with exactly the same settings on camera as with the Ninja V. On the VA you need to set Timecode Input to Video Input for this to work.


Thanks. I'll try that
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0972296/
Offline

Henchman

  • Posts: 501
  • Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:43 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Mark Hensley

Re: Question for the BM tech guys

PostThu Dec 15, 2022 1:26 pm

mickspixels wrote:Seeing as you have not had an answer yet, for what it's worth, it is possible to trigger recording with timecode from a Nikon Z6II and the 5" 12G Video Assist with exactly the same settings on camera as with the Ninja V. On the VA you need to set Timecode Input to Video Input for this to work.


Doesn't work. VA is not seeing Timecode from the Zcam.
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0972296/

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Csaba Nagy, Google Feedfetcher, nnjrewzas112 and 16 guests