MFT lens recommendations for the BMPCC

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Tom_T

MFT lens recommendations for the BMPCC

PostThu Jul 25, 2013 5:38 pm

Hey everyone, hobbyist here looking into the BMPCC.

I am fairly new to all this, looking to graduate from prosumer camcorders to the BMPCC.

I know it arrives lens-less and you need to purchase an MFT lens. I also know no one has been able to get their hands on it yet so maybe this thread is moot from the start.

I mostly plan on shooting live concerts, inside with just concert-type lights. What's a good MFT lens for this?

I would need: OIS, auto-focus and some kind of zoom (3x, 4x?). Obviously the more compact the better.

Thanks.

8-)

Peter J. DeCrescenzo

Re: MFT lens recommendations for the BMPCC

PostThu Jul 25, 2013 5:53 pm

We don't know about exact compatibility with every MFT lens out there yet, but usually that info begins to appear soon after a camera starts to ship, if not sooner.

The Panasonic Lumix X VARIO 12-35mm / F2.8 ASPH. lens is one possibility if you want a fully-digital lens:
http://panasonic.net/avc/lumix/systemca ... index.html

There are many MFT and MFT-adaptable lenses available, from many different manufacturers, and at a wide variety of prices.

In general I recommend against buying expensive accessories for a camera you don't yet have in-hand. Get the camera first, then get lens(es) for it. That way you can return a lens for a full refund, from a reputable dealer, if necessary.

-

Tom_T

PostThu Jul 25, 2013 5:59 pm

Thanks for the reply, kind of sounds like what I am looking for. Will wait until the camera starts shipping of course.

Another question that will really out me as a newbie, on that lens' product page is a lot of numbers being thrown around, which one tells me the "optical zoom" (i.e. camcorders have 10x, etc.)?

http://panasonic.net/avc/lumix/systemca ... 12_35.html

Thanks again.

Richard Oakes

PostThu Jul 25, 2013 6:06 pm