Dedicated photo mode for BMPCC 4K and 6K

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Reerker

Dedicated photo mode for BMPCC 4K and 6K

PostThu Jan 16, 2020 10:17 pm

Hello!

Yes, BMPCC is not a photo camera, but it is able to take stills better than a smartphone, so I would like to maximize its capabilities. For example, I am not a professional photographer, and the capabilities of the BMPCC sensor are enough for me. Why not implement at least the most basic function - separate settings. I imagine a photo mode something like this:
The "still" button puts the camera in photo mode. The settings of all parameters (resolution, ISO, shutter, etc.) are switched to a separate preset, changes in which do not affect the video mode. Stills in this mode are taken using the "record" button. The preview function in this mode allows you to view your photos instead of videos. Pressing the “still” button again returns the camera to video mode.
In this form, the photo mode does not affect those who use the camera exclusively for shooting video, so everyone should be satisfied. I think many BMPCC users would be happy with such addition. It seems to me that implementing this function in this form will not be difficult for software developers.

English is not my native language, so I apologize for the mistakes. Thanks for attention.

robedge

Re: Dedicated photo mode for BMPCC 4K and 6K

PostFri Jan 17, 2020 2:07 am

Reerker wrote:English is not my native language, so I apologize for the mistakes.

What mistakes :)

finalcolor

PostFri Jan 17, 2020 6:22 am

I also need this feature. Hope to have this update in the future
http://www.finalcolor.net

xchrisx

PostFri Jan 17, 2020 4:16 pm

please Blackmagic, make this update

Tim Kraemer

PostFri Jan 17, 2020 10:21 pm