Lut embedded in file

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

MaxSaltin

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 9:42 am
  • Real Name: Max Saltin

Lut embedded in file

PostSun Jan 19, 2020 5:51 pm

Hey BM Community!

Updating the pocket 4k with the 6.6 the update. Great update.

Playing back files i had a problem with luts applied to the clip. Is the lut embedded into the clip via the metadata somehow? Can someone kindly explain to me what is going on?

I apply another lut to monitor my shoot footage with anoter lut it reverts back to another lut with the next coming clip. Also when going from one scene to another scene, lets say i was filming inside, had iso 400, then going outside i had to go 3200, the clip is dark, when i press play the exposure changes, like the embedded iso setting jumps or something, idk, I can replicate it just going between clips. Is this a bug?

Much appreciated.
Online

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 7457
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Lut embedded in file

PostSun Jan 19, 2020 7:33 pm

Shooting RAW? Learn about the options in the RAW tab and the RAW presets in the project settings.
Resolve Studio 16.2.2 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline
User avatar

timbutt2

  • Posts: 1680
  • Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:32 am

Re: Lut embedded in file

PostMon Jan 20, 2020 3:53 am

The LUT is embedded in the BRAW metadata. You can disable that LUT in the RAW tab in Resolve and apply a different LUT via the Sidecar file. This then allows you to choose between the Embedded LUT and the Sidecar LUT.

Playing back in camera it will playback with the Embedded LUT, but from what I understand if it's the same LUT you currently have selected in the Display LUT then you will see it as it was shot with the LUT applied. I haven't tried changing Display LUT options with playing back footage shot with a certain Embedded LUT. I'll do a test tomorrow if I can since I only have post editing work to do tomorrow.

Otherwise, I'm still pushing the idea of BRAW Presets that can allow you to use a custom LUT with those settings to make the whole process more engaging and creative. There's a lot of potential here. Either way, just thoughts on ways to make it more creative.

I'll get back to you with my tests on my URSA Mini Pro G2 tomorrow.
"I'm well trained in the art of turning **** to gold." - Tim Buttner (timbutt2)

Cameras: URSA Mini Pro G2 & Cinema Camera 2.5K EF
Computers: iMac 5K (Late 2015) & MacBook Pro Retina 15.4in (Mid 2018)
Offline
User avatar

Jamie LeJeune

  • Posts: 1267
  • Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 4:33 am
  • Location: San Francisco

Re: Lut embedded in file

PostWed Sep 09, 2020 1:44 am

timbutt2 wrote: apply a different LUT via the Sidecar file. This then allows you to choose between the Embedded LUT and the Sidecar LUT.
Have you gotten that to work? I've got all the latest firmware and latest version of Resolve, and there is no option to add a LUT to the sidecar. Only the LUT embedded in the metadata from the camera that can be either enabled or disabled.
www.cinedocs.com
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm4601572/

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests