(Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

(Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostTue May 26, 2020 5:51 pm

Good afternoon Blackmagic community!

I've just bought my new baby, the Blackmagic Pocket Cinema 4K, very excited to use this!

https://twitter.com/m77oz/status/1265316020878794752

I might've misread but I thought my Canon lens would fit directly in the camera box, unfortunately doesn't seem to be the case. I have a 18-55m Canon, also a Samyang 2.8-14mm, but they don't seem to fit (didn't want to try to much to fit it in lol).

I thought I read it would fit, but it's no problem at all I was actually looking to buy a Sigma 18-35mm but I was wondering what would be my cheaper option at the moment?

What type of Mount Adapter I can buy to fit the type of lenses I was previously mentionning. Do you think it would be worth investing in a SpeedBooster or something cheaper like a Viltrox EFM2?

At this stage I might be best to buy a Sigma 18-35mm, but does that fit directly in the camera box?

Lots of questions, appreciate your help in advance!

Very exciting!
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostTue May 26, 2020 9:26 pm

Just bumping this because it just got approve!

Thanks in advance for your help everyone!
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 835
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostTue May 26, 2020 9:46 pm

the pocket 6k has an EF mount, but the 4k has MFT
and this is the good one, so you can use a lot of lenses

but you need a converter MFT > EF

the best you can buy is the metabones BMPCC 4K MFT to EF speedbooster

https://www.metabones.com/products/?c=blackmagic-MFT

there are any cheaper, but the quality of metabones is unmatched

cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/4x4TB HGST/SSD7101A 4x2TB 970evoplus/HP1344/BMD4k/Radeon VII
macOS 11.2.3

BMPCC4k (7.3)+ MB speedbooster ultra 0.71 (3.60)
resolve 17.2
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostTue May 26, 2020 10:05 pm

Mark Foster wrote:the pocket 6k has an EF mount, but the 4k has MFT
and this is the good one, so you can use a lot of lenses

but you need a converter MFT > EF

the best you can buy is the metabones BMPCC 4K MFT to EF speedbooster

there are any cheaper, but the quality of metabones is unmatch


Gotcha so even if I want to buy the Sigma 18-35mm I would need the Speed Booster anyway? What lenses would fit directly in the 4K out of curiosity?

I was already looking at buying the Metabone SpeedBooster.

So I guess the next step is Metabone SpeedBooster!

Thanks again!
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 12980
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostTue May 26, 2020 11:54 pm

You can also use a normal smart adapter without the optical expander element. The advantage of the expander optics in the Speed Booster version is the ability to get the lens angle of view closer to what it would be on a Canon camera. You have two choices, 0.71 and 0.64, the later which gets the angle of view close to a APS/C size sensor. This is what I use on my Picket for Nikon lenses.

If you go with a Soeed Booster, you want the one made by Metabones specifically for the Pocket 4K, vs the standard MFT/EF model.
Cheers.
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 2236
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostWed May 27, 2020 1:10 am

Hey Matt, None of the lenses you mentioned, including the Sigma 18-35mm, will mount directly on the BMPCC Pocket 4K. You will need an adapter. I recommend getting the Metabones SpeedBooster .71x MFT/EF Adapter.
MSI Raider X99 MB / Intel i7 5280 6 core CPU / 2 x AMD R9 390X 8Gb GPU / 32Gb 3200 RAM / Decklink 4K Mini Monitor / 240Gb SSD OS Drive / 4Tb RAID 0 SSD Cache/Scratch Drive / 24Tb 7200rpm Data Drive / Win 10 Pro 64bit / Resolve 17
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostWed May 27, 2020 3:44 am

Great thanks a lot for your feedback, so that would be the one for me?

Canon EF Lens to BMPCC4K T Speed Booster® ULTRA 0.71x

metabones.com/products/details/MB_SPEF-m43-BT8

And from what I read there it would also work with a Sigma if I eventually buy one.
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 14591
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostWed May 27, 2020 4:52 am

That’s worth repeating: Metabones SpeedBooster for BMPCC4K Ultra.
Rick Lang
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostWed May 27, 2020 2:29 pm

rick.lang wrote:That’s worth repeating: Metabones SpeedBooster for BMPCC4K Ultra.



This one? Canon EF Lens to BMPCC4K T Speed Booster® ULTRA 0.71x

If I intend to use my canon lenses on the 4K and maybe buy a Sigma?
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 14591
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostWed May 27, 2020 3:06 pm

Yes, the one with the name that is specific to the BMPCC4K (and not the original BMPCC which is completely different. Personally I’m still considering the version of that SpeedBooster that interfaces PL with the BMPCC4K. But a bit nervous about spending the money (next year?) if it makes the image softer.
Rick Lang
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostWed May 27, 2020 4:24 pm

I just officially made my purchase! Thank you so much everyone for the quick response and the detailed advice.

Image

It gives me trust that the Blackmagic community is solid and I can come here for assistance if needed.

Thanks again, looking forward to shoot!
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 14591
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostThu May 28, 2020 4:50 am

Now, don’t be a stranger, Matt.
Rick Lang
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 3554
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostThu May 28, 2020 8:58 am

Matthieu, one thing: when you are not intending to use MFT lenses with the PCC4k, but EF lenses only - why buy the PCC4k + Metabones adapter when you can now get the PCC6k with EF mount?
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostThu May 28, 2020 3:13 pm

Robert Niessner wrote:Matthieu, one thing: when you are not intending to use MFT lenses with the PCC4k, but EF lenses only - why buy the PCC4k + Metabones adapter when you can now get the PCC6k with EF mount?


Bad research I guess ;)
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 835
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostThu May 28, 2020 5:16 pm

Robert Niessner wrote:Matthieu, one thing: when you are not intending to use MFT lenses with the PCC4k, but EF lenses only - why buy the PCC4k + Metabones adapter when you can now get the PCC6k with EF mount?



i find the 4k + speedbooster, even if it is now the same price as the 6k,
the better variant what the variety of lenses means.

the 6k is very limited and on the 4k i can use good cheap (for example meike) cine prime MFT,
or with an adapter i can use old canon FD, nikkor or lumix lenses.

also the limitation not to record in 4k BRAW on the 6k was a reason for my decision.
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/4x4TB HGST/SSD7101A 4x2TB 970evoplus/HP1344/BMD4k/Radeon VII
macOS 11.2.3

BMPCC4k (7.3)+ MB speedbooster ultra 0.71 (3.60)
resolve 17.2
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 12980
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostThu May 28, 2020 6:08 pm

I agree, for what I shoot, the 4K camera with its current FW offers more versatility, and recording options.
Also I like the additional lens mount options. That said, if I was still working professionally, the Pocket 6K with the Wooden Camera PL mount mod would be a good option, especially if I needed 4K Deliverables. As it is, I only need UHD and HD delivery.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 14591
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostFri May 29, 2020 1:45 pm

I’m a fan of the versatility of the BMPCC4K but the BMPCC6K shooting BRAW open gate does give you the option then of downscaling to 4K/UHD in post for even better detail and improved colour and wider field of view.

Then again with the addition of the Metabones SpeedBooster for BMPCC4K, your field of view matches true Super 35.
Rick Lang
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 12980
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostFri May 29, 2020 3:41 pm

Yes it does Rick, you can get real close to the same FOV from a 35mm lens with a SB as you would have on a S35 camera, and get that S35 feel to your image.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostFri May 29, 2020 4:46 pm

Hey guys in terms of memory card I was testing with my 64GB Sandisk 48MB/s and my Blackmagic says "No Card", I'm guessing I need a different type of memory card.

I need to go with 95MB/s right?
Offline

Brad Hurley

  • Posts: 1729
  • Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:42 pm
  • Location: Montréal

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostFri May 29, 2020 5:10 pm

matthieucote wrote:Hey guys in terms of memory card I was testing with my 64GB Sandisk 48MB/s and my Blackmagic says "No Card", I'm guessing I need a different type of memory card.


Be sure to buy one from BMD's official approved media list:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=95785
Resolve 16.1.2 Studio, Mac Pro 3.0 GHz 8-core, 32 gigs RAM, dual AMD D700 GPU.
Audio I/O: Sound Devices USBPre-2
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostFri May 29, 2020 9:17 pm

I would go with SanDisk Extreme Pro UHS-I 95MB/s SDXC 512GB
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostSat May 30, 2020 6:05 pm

Would that one be supported in 170 MB/s or its too much? Cause I see on the list they say supported is 90 MB/s
Offline

Henchman

  • Posts: 370
  • Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:43 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Mark Hensley

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostMon Jun 01, 2020 6:04 am

Don't overspend on the metabones.
The Viltrox is totally fine. You'd be better off using the money you save on other stuff you might need.
I have the Viltrox MII, and had a metabones. Sold the metabones.
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0972296/
Offline

Henchman

  • Posts: 370
  • Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:43 am
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Real Name: Mark Hensley

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostMon Jun 01, 2020 11:03 pm

Btw, do you have all the other things you'll need?
A battery system, a Cage, a Gimble, a slider, a mini jib, follow focus?
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0972296/
Offline

Art Roberts

  • Posts: 163
  • Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 4:47 am

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostTue Jun 02, 2020 10:04 am

Kristian Lam said

Since the pixel pitch of the Pocket Cinema Camera 6K is smaller, the 4K DCI crop on the Pocket Cinema Camera 6K will actually be more cropped in than 4K DCI on the Pocket Cinema Camera 4K.

We've maximized the formats on the Pocket Cinema Camera 6K for the greatest FOV and frame rates possible, so wouldn't it be better to shoot at 5.7k which is 17:9 (to match 4K DCI's aspect ratio) and also get the benefit of oversampling when delivering in 4K DCI?
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 14591
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostTue Jun 02, 2020 5:54 pm

I think so, Art.
Rick Lang
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 12980
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostWed Jun 03, 2020 2:24 am

Yes, the 4K crop on the Pocket 6K for Raw shooting, would be physically smaller than the full 4K DCS sensor image on the Pocket 4K, and IQ would not be as good. Shooting the 5.x crop for down sampling is much better IQ and FOV wise.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

BennoZ

  • Posts: 172
  • Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:42 pm
  • Real Name: Benno Zwanenburg

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostSat Jun 06, 2020 1:33 pm

rick.lang wrote:That’s worth repeating: Metabones SpeedBooster for BMPCC4K Ultra.

Sorry to say but this one is much better: https://www.metabones.com/products/details/MB_SPEF-m43-BTA

By the way, unlike the BMPCC has only a MFT sensor, the DOF is a little more than the UMP when wide open at 1.3.
Last edited by BennoZ on Wed Jun 10, 2020 10:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 14591
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostSat Jun 06, 2020 6:08 pm

That’s the SpeedBooster I meant, to allow use of EF lenses on the BMPCC4K with the improved mount. Thanks for posting the link so there’s no confusion.
Rick Lang
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostWed Jun 10, 2020 4:26 pm

Hey guys I have a Sandisk Extreme 150mb/s 128 GB that a friend gave me, it seems to be working with my Blackmagic I was able to film a test.

When I try to export it in my computer I have a .MOV file with no video, only audio, even though I see the image in my camera if I try to look at it again.

I'm guessing I am not filming in the right format or maybe the card is still the issue?

Thanks for helping out a noob
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 2236
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostWed Jun 10, 2020 4:32 pm

matthieucote wrote:Hey guys I have a Sandisk Extreme 150mb/s 128 GB that a friend gave me, it seems to be working with my Blackmagic I was able to film a test.

When I try to export it in my computer I have a .MOV file with no video, only audio, even though I see the image in my camera if I try to look at it again.

I'm guessing I am not filming in the right format or maybe the card is still the issue?

Thanks for helping out a noob

If you're just viewing it with a player, you might be using the wrong player. Bring it into Resolve and see if you can playback. If it is BRAW, use the BRAW Player. If Prores, on the Mac, you should be able to view both video and audio via the QT player. On Windows, you can try VLC as your player... usually works.
MSI Raider X99 MB / Intel i7 5280 6 core CPU / 2 x AMD R9 390X 8Gb GPU / 32Gb 3200 RAM / Decklink 4K Mini Monitor / 240Gb SSD OS Drive / 4Tb RAID 0 SSD Cache/Scratch Drive / 24Tb 7200rpm Data Drive / Win 10 Pro 64bit / Resolve 17
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostWed Jun 10, 2020 4:43 pm

Thanks for the quick reply, I do see it in VLC you are correct.

I usually work with Premiere Pro I tried importing there and would only get the sound. Forgot about DaVinci Resolve 16 Studio that is included with my blackmagic, I'll get that going and start working with this one instead.

But would there be a way to use that footage in Premiere Pro? I was filming in ProRes
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 2236
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostWed Jun 10, 2020 7:02 pm

matthieucote wrote:But would there be a way to use that footage in Premiere Pro? I was filming in ProRes

You should be able to. I just did a quick test capture with my BMPCC6K using ProRes 4K 422 HQ and brought it into Premier Pro 2020 and had no problem playing both video and audio.
MSI Raider X99 MB / Intel i7 5280 6 core CPU / 2 x AMD R9 390X 8Gb GPU / 32Gb 3200 RAM / Decklink 4K Mini Monitor / 240Gb SSD OS Drive / 4Tb RAID 0 SSD Cache/Scratch Drive / 24Tb 7200rpm Data Drive / Win 10 Pro 64bit / Resolve 17
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostWed Jun 10, 2020 9:38 pm

Yeah that's weird they come up as a Audio file when I import my MOV in Premiere Pro, I must be doing something wrong, but I definitely will try Resolve I heard great things.

Image
Attachments
^premi.png
^premi.png (79.93 KiB) Viewed 4249 times
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostWed Jun 10, 2020 10:09 pm

I got this error trying to open Resolve, see attached, any tips for that?
Attachments
MinGW Runtime.png
MinGW Runtime.png (214.44 KiB) Viewed 4241 times
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostThu Jun 11, 2020 1:11 am

Let me know your thoughts regarding the MinGW Runtime Assertion error with Resolve, I google and it seems to be a recurrent issue however I have not found the solution, I don't want to mess with it either.

On the positive, I went out and shot some great things, this Blackmagic Camera is a gift from God, I've been shooting with a Rebel T3i for 5 years+ so you can understand my excitement.

Hope someone can help with the error below, I have my Resolve software, the key everything, but no sucess!
Attachments
MinGW Runtime.png
MinGW Runtime.png (214.44 KiB) Viewed 4225 times
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 2236
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostThu Jun 11, 2020 1:30 am

Without details about your system and OS, it's hard to tell.
MSI Raider X99 MB / Intel i7 5280 6 core CPU / 2 x AMD R9 390X 8Gb GPU / 32Gb 3200 RAM / Decklink 4K Mini Monitor / 240Gb SSD OS Drive / 4Tb RAID 0 SSD Cache/Scratch Drive / 24Tb 7200rpm Data Drive / Win 10 Pro 64bit / Resolve 17
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostThu Jun 11, 2020 1:46 am

Ellory Yu wrote:Without details about your system and OS, it's hard to tell.


Yeah just wondering if there's someone to help with that around here.

My laptop is a DELL Inspiron 15 7000 Gaming and I'm running with Windows 10* 64-bit
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10129
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostThu Jun 11, 2020 2:00 am

Which GPU? How much VRAM?
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.1.1 and Fusion Studio 17, macOS 10.15.7
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 10.14.6
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostThu Jun 11, 2020 2:27 am

I have a Nvidia GEFORCE GTX usually should be ok, see below for the specs let me know if that helps
Attachments
dx1.png
dx1.png (55.56 KiB) Viewed 4205 times
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10129
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostThu Jun 11, 2020 4:42 am

Sorry, but forget that laptop for Resolve if you want 4K/UHD. HD with light grading should be fine.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.1.1 and Fusion Studio 17, macOS 10.15.7
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 10.14.6
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostThu Jun 11, 2020 9:19 pm

Ok but I'm a bit confused so I cannot open Resolve at all with my laptop?
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 2236
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostThu Jun 11, 2020 10:25 pm

As a suggestion, you can try uninstalling any Resolve products and deleting the installer. Some installer files may be corrupted. Download the latest Da Vinci Resolve installer again and retry to install.

Usually you will get such error if the OS or drivers are not compatible but I will assume they are. So I am assuming that there might be files that are corrupted.

Reading your computer (laptop) spec, Uli's recommendation should be considered. I don't think you will have a good experience running Resolve on it, assuming you get pass the starting Resolve error. Good luck!
MSI Raider X99 MB / Intel i7 5280 6 core CPU / 2 x AMD R9 390X 8Gb GPU / 32Gb 3200 RAM / Decklink 4K Mini Monitor / 240Gb SSD OS Drive / 4Tb RAID 0 SSD Cache/Scratch Drive / 24Tb 7200rpm Data Drive / Win 10 Pro 64bit / Resolve 17
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 12980
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostThu Jun 11, 2020 10:32 pm

These Qs are best asked on the Resolve forum, this was a lenses on Pocket 4K discussion... :roll:
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostMon Jun 15, 2020 9:02 pm

Yeah no problem I open the question over there, otherwise I will try uninstalling as suggested.

But still shouldn't I be able to see them in Premiere Pro, any ideas why the file would only show up as Audio File?

Image

I will definitely start shooting in HD with that in mind
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 3554
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostMon Jun 15, 2020 9:09 pm

You should update your NVIDIA driver, the installed one is from 2018.
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostSun Jun 28, 2020 4:26 pm

Solved my previous issues and went shooting, thanks a lot for your help!

Back on topic on now regarding the lens, I've been shooting with the Lumix 35-100m that I quite enjoy, however I've been thinking about my Canon lens and how they would look/fit on my Blackmagic. I initially bought the Metabone Speed Booster but the company was back-order, and by the time I was waiting I got my Lumix lens so I decided to cancel the order because I have a shoot next weekend.

I decided to go with the Viltrox Mount Adapter EF-EOS M2 0.71x that I read would fit with my Blackmagic and my Canon lenses, I might've screw up because it doesn't seem to fit in my Blackmagic camera, probably the case. Let me know if the Viltrox Mount Adapter EF-EOS M2 0.71x is supposed to fit the Blackmagic, just didn't want to force it too much.

Also, I was able to mount a Canon lens (50mm 0.45m/1.5ft) on one side of my Viltrox. But when I tried my other lens that I actually want to use, a Canon (18-55mm EFS with Image stabilizer) it didn't seem to fit on the Viltrox. I could almost get it in but I wouldn't hear the click. Once again, probably me being a bit stupid and noob, I don't want to force it like I said.

Before I go further I wanted to ask your thoughts, I bought the wrong adapter right?
Offline
User avatar

dondidnod

  • Posts: 358
  • Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:52 am
  • Location: Castro Valley, CA
  • Real Name: Donald Keller

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostSun Jun 28, 2020 7:32 pm

I use the Canon 18-55 kit lens on a discontinued Aputure DEC LensRegain wireless EF to M43 .75x focal reducer without issues. I've used Canon EF-S 70-200, 10-18mm and EF 20-35mm 2.8L lenses too. Although not specifically designed for the BMPCC 4K, it has several layers of coatings that improve the sharpness on vintage lenses that lack contrast. I haven't tried it on a super sharp lens like the Sigma 18-35mm though.

If people are reporting Moire problems using the Sigma 18-35 using the old Speed Booster on a BMPCC 4K, then what does that say about using the Viltrox focal reducer?
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=101923&p=564523&hilit=moire#p564523
Offline

matthieucote

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
  • Real Name: Matthieu Cote

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostSun Jun 28, 2020 8:14 pm

So the Viltrox Mount Adapter EF-EOS M2 0.71x doesn't fit in the Blackmagic right? It's the "EF M2" I should've got I think.

Would that work with my Blackmagic? https://www.amazon.ca/VILTROX-Reducer-B ... s9dHJ1ZQ==
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 2236
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: (Rookie Question) Lens with Blackmagic Pocket 4K

PostSun Jun 28, 2020 8:35 pm

matthieucote wrote:So the Viltrox Mount Adapter EF-EOS M2 0.71x doesn't fit in the Blackmagic right? It's the "EF M2" I should've got I think.

Would that work with my Blackmagic? https://www.amazon.ca/VILTROX-Reducer-B ... s9dHJ1ZQ==


In my local circle, I've heard complains about the Viltrox adapter having some play with the BMPCC4K mount, especially with heavier lenses that over the months they have been using it, had issues with the adapter mount being loose causing issues like difficulty in focusing and electronic communication between the camera and lens. I don't have a BMPCC4K so I just stating what I have heard. I have a GH5 and with that I use the Metabones and it's rock solid.
MSI Raider X99 MB / Intel i7 5280 6 core CPU / 2 x AMD R9 390X 8Gb GPU / 32Gb 3200 RAM / Decklink 4K Mini Monitor / 240Gb SSD OS Drive / 4Tb RAID 0 SSD Cache/Scratch Drive / 24Tb 7200rpm Data Drive / Win 10 Pro 64bit / Resolve 17
Next

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: francesco.dadamo and 30 guests