Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Peter Östlund

  • Posts: 277
  • Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:22 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

PostFri Aug 23, 2013 8:03 am

Trying the little gem out.
Just received the hdmi cable.
Conneced the Pocket to my monitor.
No picture displayed.
Have I missed something here?

thanks for advise

Peter
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 7089
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

PostFri Aug 23, 2013 10:21 am

Could it be the same problem like on the BMCC? Try to switch off the overlays.
Resolve Studio 16.2.2 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline
User avatar

Peter Östlund

  • Posts: 277
  • Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:22 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

PostFri Aug 23, 2013 2:15 pm

There is a problem with the connection between the micro-hdmi port in the camera and the cable I am using. If I angle the contact I get a random connection.
The actual micro-hdmi contact is longer and is build for a deeper micro-hdmi port. I do not know if the contact on the cable is too long or the port to shallow. I do know this doesn't work for a professional set up. The length of the contact is approx 6 mm and the port seems to be approx 4 mm deep.
Are there different hdmi standards?

less happy

Peter
Offline
User avatar

Peter Östlund

  • Posts: 277
  • Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:22 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

PostSat Aug 24, 2013 6:29 am

Update.
I have tried five different micro hdmi cables and none of them sticks all the way in. This makes the connection a little bit unsecure. However using a different brand of cable establish a reasonable connection without drop outs. It would have been much better if the port had been 2 mm deeper.
At least I now can use my viewfinder and external monitors.

Otherwise the camera seems to work very, very well.

A little bit happier

Peter
Offline
User avatar

Kevin Thompson

  • Posts: 91
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:49 am

Re: Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

PostSun Aug 25, 2013 6:22 am

Peter,

Can you confirm if the hdmi output is progressive or interlaced?

Kevin
BMD Products:
ATEM Television Studio, Micro Videohub, GPI&Tally
Hyperdeck Studio, Mini Monitor, Mini Recorder
HDMI->SDI Battery Converter (2)
SmartView HD, SmartScope Duo 4K
Ultrastudio 4K, Multidock, MFT BMCC
Offline
User avatar

Peter Östlund

  • Posts: 277
  • Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:22 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

PostSun Aug 25, 2013 7:50 am

I suppose it has to be progressive since the camera only do progressive.
Is there a way to easily 100% confirm so please advise and I will check.
Offline

Steve Pierce

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:05 am
  • Location: Oxford, UK

Re: Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

PostSat Sep 28, 2013 8:25 am

The port does appear to be too shallow, though it may have been designed this way to prevent damage to the camera if the micro-HDMI cable is bent.

For future versions of the camera, something similar to Atomos' proprietary locking mini-BNC connector on the original Samurai would be preferable. There may be licensing issues with this however, and a mini-SDI port would protrude from the camera, which may make the connector more likely to get damaged when thrown in a bag. It also kind of spoils the clean lines of the design.

On initial tests, an Atomos Samurai connected to the BMPCC via an Atomos HDMI-SDI battery converter dropped out every few seconds. Subsequent tests with a new cable (http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0051YHVPM) were much better. I wiggled the micro-HDMI adapter cable quite a bit and didn't get a drop out, so I feel happier using it.

I now think using an external recorder for long-form event work is a viable option, but I would always want to be recording to SD card at the same time as a back-up.
Last edited by Steve Pierce on Sun Sep 29, 2013 11:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
User avatar

Badrulhisham Bahadzor

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 9:23 am
  • Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Is HDMI not working with fw 1.4 on Pocket?

PostSat Sep 28, 2013 8:32 am

I bought this and it works well with my SmallHD DP4 monitor.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/350729520841?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649
Badrulhisham Bahadzor
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 30 guests