Hello and criticise me!!

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Deadmeadow

Hello and criticise me!!

PostFri Oct 16, 2020 8:28 am

Hi all,

Relatively new to the forums and Blackmagic cameras. I purchased the original BMPCC a couple of months ago. I am still climbing the huge learning curve that this camera presents somebody who has come from a Panasonic G6!!! I'd love to eventually get a 4 or 6k and was thinking if I can master this camera, the newer versions should not be such a huge step!

So, all that being said I'd love some tips and constructive criticism. I have seen there are some people churning out amazing stuff with these cameras on this forum. So, as a newbie, I'd love to acquire a bit of your expertise if you would be kind enough to share!

Here are some of my efforts thus far. I dare say they look utterly awful to the professional eye but here goes....

I have two lenses, an old Canon FD 50mm and the Panasonic 14-42mm kit lens that came with the G6.
I have cage for the camera and a Feelworld monitor with False Colour.

I edit on a 2019 Imac so, computer power not an issue. I think my main issues are nailing the exposure, correcting and grading properly and the upload (on youtube) just never looks too good. Obviously better glass would yield way better results....working on that!

I know its a long post with lots of questions but you guys are the experts and I'd value your input!

Many thanks and have a great day!

Steve Holmlund

Re: Hello and criticise me!!

PostFri Oct 16, 2020 4:27 pm

Hi Darren,
Some comments from an amateur.
1. There is a separate "Look what I shot" thread to post your efforts to. They might get more responses because people use that thread specifically to get and give input.
2. Of the clips you posted, I think Beau was the best, and the first part of Beach. But I'm not really a qualified judge.