Getting started with 4K

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

gazcarr

Getting started with 4K

PostWed Sep 25, 2013 3:20 am

Hi all,

I originally posted this in the MAC section weeks ago and after 70 views and no response I thought I would try here.

I am a complete beginner when it comes to BM products.

Ok so I have the new iMac with

a 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 Processor
Memory 32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2048 MB

I have preordered the 4K Production camera so whilst I am waiting I want to prepare my Mac so its ready to go when the camera arrives.

This is my first Black magic camera and first time editing with RAW etc.

Can anyone recommend hardware & workflow etc that is needed.

Thanks in advance.

Luxwhite

Re: Getting started with 4K

PostThu Sep 26, 2013 10:23 pm

Start buying a Raid... If you are going to shot in 4k you will need a Loooooot of Gb.

Antoine Mellinger

Re: Getting started with 4K

PostFri Sep 27, 2013 2:16 am

Hmm it seems the blackmagic forum is actually made for complaints and rants about the delay in shipping for the cameras, not so much for help with technical issues lol...

Computer-wise you should be fine for 4K in ProRes, just a matter of storage.
Not sure if you intend to shoot RAW 4K, if so the problem is data rate. RAW is a lot of info, so your HDD will not be able to handle the required data rate. There is a blackmagic disk speed utility that you can download that will tell you what you HDD can handle.