BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Nick Gombinsky

  • Posts: 255
  • Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:30 pm
  • Location: Berlin, Germany

BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostWed Apr 21, 2021 8:22 pm

Hi all! After years of not owning a Blackmagic camera I'm back. Had many a few years ago.

I just bought the P6Kpro and have connected it through different HDMI cables to different computer monitors, and can't get a signal. Am I missing something? This camera doesn't even have an output option on the Monitor settings, so I can't be "accidentally sending out 4K to unsupported monitors" as it could happen with other cameras, this one is Full HD only. What am I missing?
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 848
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostWed Apr 21, 2021 8:53 pm

the HDMI out is 1080p and the framerate is the project framerate
so if you have set the camera to 24 frames, the monitor must support 1080p24

25fps = 1080p25
30fps = 1080p30
....
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/4x4TB HGST/SSD7101A 4x2TB 970evoplus/HP1344/BMD4k/Radeon VII
macOS 11.2.3

BMPCC4k (7.3)+ MB speedbooster ultra 0.71 (3.60)
resolve 17.2
Offline
User avatar

Nick Gombinsky

  • Posts: 255
  • Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:30 pm
  • Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostWed Apr 21, 2021 11:08 pm

Good one! I went back and just in case tried all frame rates... none worked. Thanks though
Offline
User avatar

Robert Niessner

  • Posts: 3562
  • Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:51 am
  • Location: Graz, Austria

Re: BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostThu Apr 22, 2021 4:02 pm

It should work with a TV at least.
I've found that some computer monitors are expecting interlaced signals only when they detect YPbPr/YUV HDMI signals looking like from a video source.
Saying "Thx for help!" is not a crime.
--------------------------------
Robert Niessner
LAUFBILDkommission
Graz / Austria
--------------------------------
Blackmagic Camera Blog (German):
http://laufbildkommission.wordpress.com

Read the blog in English via Google Translate:
http://tinyurl.com/pjf6a3m
Offline
User avatar

Johannes Jonsson

  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 2:35 pm
  • Location: Iceland

Re: BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostThu Apr 22, 2021 5:19 pm

As Robert says. try a TV or camera monitor to confirm HDMI out put.
Computer monitors often do not work for so many reasons.
Johannes
Offline
User avatar

Nick Gombinsky

  • Posts: 255
  • Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:30 pm
  • Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostThu Apr 22, 2021 7:43 pm

Tried several monitors including a professional one, no dice. Going back to the store tomorrow. :cry:
Offline
User avatar

Nick Gombinsky

  • Posts: 255
  • Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:30 pm
  • Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostFri Apr 23, 2021 3:03 pm

The store tested my unit and couldn't get the HDMI to work, gave me a new one which works ;) just a lemon
Offline

John Brawley

  • Posts: 2970
  • Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:57 am
  • Location: Los Angeles California

Re: BMPCC6KPRO HDMI out not working?

PostFri Apr 23, 2021 8:07 pm

Nick Gombinsky wrote:The store tested my unit and couldn't get the HDMI to work, gave me a new one which works ;) just a lemon


Or....

Be careful, you may have “blown” the HDMI. It’s a common issue with some combinations of how you power the camera, especially when using multiple accessories powered from the same battery.

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=108135

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=124053&p=679828

JB
John Brawley ACS
Cinematographer
Currently - Los Angeles

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Csaba Nagy, Google [Bot] and 13 guests