Can I use a four thirds lens with an adaptor on my BMPC4?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

blakeyman

Can I use a four thirds lens with an adaptor on my BMPC4?

PostMon May 17, 2021 7:49 pm

Hi all

I'm a bit of a newbie here having only *just* bought my camera (and 2 lenses)

One I've bought is a Olympus 8mm f3.5 Zuiko Digital ED Fisheye Lens - Four Thirds Mount (p/n N2127892) *thinking* I could simply get an adapter.
Now I'm not sure...

Is there such a thing (an adpater) and will this lens work ok?

Where is there more info about different lens mounts and adpaters that can work with a BMPC4?

Thanks in advance,
Paul

John Griffin

Re: Can I use a four thirds lens with an adaptor on my BMPC4

PostTue May 18, 2021 5:15 pm

blakeyman wrote:Hi all

I'm a bit of a newbie here having only *just* bought my camera (and 2 lenses)

One I've bought is a Olympus 8mm f3.5 Zuiko Digital ED Fisheye Lens - Four Thirds Mount (p/n N2127892) *thinking* I could simply get an adapter.
Now I'm not sure...

Is there such a thing (an adpater) and will this lens work ok?

Where is there more info about different lens mounts and adpaters that can work with a BMPC4?

Thanks in advance,
Paul

It will connect to the camera and you can control the aperture but forget about any AF functionality. Worth getting the 12-60 2.8-4 SWD which is a very good lens which has a descent proper MF operation.

John Brawley

PostTue May 18, 2021 5:34 pm

Yeah you can get a 4/3--> m43 adaptor.

Something like this
https://www.ebay.com/b/Olympus-Mmf-3/30 ... 7023332381

The MMF3 in Olympus is dust and splash proof. But your camera isn't, so you can also get a MMF2 or MMF1 and it should work the same. These are going to be the most expensive as they are the on-brand versions. There's a Panasonic / Lumix one as well. There will also be after market versions that might cost a bit less.