What for back up SDHC cards on set?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

pedroalvera

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:05 am

What for back up SDHC cards on set?

PostThu Oct 31, 2013 12:19 pm

Hi all,

I wonder if anyone knows a portable backup system valid for BM Pocket cards. I would dump the material, remove the media in the cards (BM cameras don't let to do this...) then continue recording without using a laptop. I have seen some models like the Ex-Pro® Picture 2 Drive EX205K SATA Photo Storage Image Tank 160Gb, but apparently do not let you read cards over 32 GB or formatted in exFAT or HFS+, any ideas?

Thanks
Offline
User avatar

Dustin Svehlak

  • Posts: 319
  • Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:49 pm
  • Location: Austin, Texas

Kingston MobileLite Wireless

PostThu Oct 31, 2013 1:06 pm

Although not the fastest solution at USB 2.0 and requiring your iOS or Android device, I used this on a traveling shoot for backing up my GoPro, Canon EOS M, and audio from Zoom recordersand it worked very well. It actually made my final transfer back to FCPX easy because I was going from one device instead of several.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00CEB5QU2/ref=cm_sw_su_dp

Support from Kingston was pretty good as well as I had a firmware update issue and they sent me a pre-release firmware to resolve the issue.

Advantages-
    Small
    Can delete files off the card if needed
    5 hour internal battery or can just be run off a USB charger
    Backup battery for your phone
    Can be used with USB hub (haven't tested myself but reported to work)
    Works with 2.5" bus powered drive (tested with a 1TB Western Digital and 500GB Toshiba)

Disadvantages-
    Slow
    App can be finnicky
    Phone goes to sleep and transfers will cease until you wake it up (can suck if you have a ton of files)
www.voltaicvideo.com
www.vimeo.com/voltaicvideo
Offline

pedroalvera

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:05 am

Re: What for back up SDHC cards on set?

PostThu Oct 31, 2013 2:52 pm

Thanks Dustin, it sounds very interesting, but did you transfer the files directly to a hard drive? In their website appears to transfer to an iOS or Android device...

Thanks,

Pedro
Offline
User avatar

Dustin Svehlak

  • Posts: 319
  • Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:49 pm
  • Location: Austin, Texas

Re: What for back up SDHC cards on set?

PostThu Oct 31, 2013 5:31 pm

On that trip I transferred to several thumb drives I had on hand. I have since tested with transferring to a 1TB and 500GB drive and it worked without issue. Again, slow as molasses but otherwise, functional for in the field.

It will never replace a dedicated DIT- we're going to get a MacBook Air eventually for doing in-field backups- but for $50, it's a great tool to have.
www.voltaicvideo.com
www.vimeo.com/voltaicvideo
Offline

pedroalvera

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:05 am

Re: What for back up SDHC cards on set?

PostThu Oct 31, 2013 5:53 pm

It's enough for me, the transfer to that drives was made via wifi or USB?

Thank you very much Dustin.
Offline
User avatar

Dustin Svehlak

  • Posts: 319
  • Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:49 pm
  • Location: Austin, Texas

Re: What for back up SDHC cards on set?

PostWed Jan 22, 2014 3:03 pm

pedroalvera wrote:...the transfer to that drives was made via wifi or USB?.
\

Sorry, just saw this. The transfer is a physical connection via USB but the interface is controlled via an app on my iPhone. I have the option of transferring to my iPhone, but this is even slower.
www.voltaicvideo.com
www.vimeo.com/voltaicvideo
Offline

vapourtrail

  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 12:09 am

Re: What for back up SDHC cards on set?

PostWed Jan 22, 2014 4:56 pm

Don't know if this is necessary to say or not but deleting clips from SD cards for the pocket is not the reccomended way to go. If this device is capable of formatting cards then it might be suitable.

My understanding is that deleting clips leaves bits of data behind. In order to write RAW or ProRes 422 the data rates are so high that those little bits prevent the camera from writing cleanly and drop frames occur. To me this explains why there is no "delete clip" in camera.

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Brad Hurley, carlomacchiavello, Chris Leutger, Google Feedfetcher, Ulysses Paiva and 36 guests