Smallrig NP-F Plate with 6k pro?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Nils3112

Smallrig NP-F Plate with 6k pro?

PostThu Oct 21, 2021 2:24 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the world of Blackmagic and cinema cameras in general. I recently got my kit and I'm wondering if I chose the wrong power solution. I got the Smallrig NP-F Plate with a dc to 12v cable. The camera shuts down with the battery inside the plate with a charge of around 50%. I kept the original NP-F Battery inside the BMCC6k pro while using the battery plate.

Can anyone help with that issue? Tried to google but couldn't find something regarding the 6kpro.

Also new to this forum, so I hope this is the right place to ask.

Thanks guys!

Regards
Nils

funktionalfilms

Re: Smallrig NP-F Plate with 6k pro?

PostWed May 25, 2022 4:52 pm

I can't say for sure (I'm a new owner as well,) but I believe it's since the 6K Pros are spec'ed for a 12V and the NP-Fs only deliver 7.4V. It appears they will run for a bit, but not very long.

That said, I have a similar question about the Smallrig Plate with the 6k pro. Rather than starting a new thread I thought I'd post here, maybe we can both get our answers met.

I bought the same Smallrig NP-F Plate for the 6K Pro, seemingly by accident:
https://smallrig.com/smallrig-np-f-batt ... -3093.html

It appears this is recommended for the 4K + 6K, but not the 6K Pro. As best I can tell it is because power specs for the earlier cameras is 7.5(ish)V, while the 6KPro is 12V (NP-F batts are spec'ed at 7.4.) All of that said, when using a beefier NP-F 970, going out of the 12V output on the adapter and to the 12V in on the side of the 6K Pro, it seems to power everything up fine. I get well over 1 1/2 hours of run and record time.