Lighting for / exposing the BM(P)CC?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Anton Outkine

Lighting for / exposing the BM(P)CC?

PostMon Nov 18, 2013 8:55 pm

Read this post at Wolfcrow, which left me very curious and at the same time unsettled me:
http://wolfcrow.com/blog/the-blackmagic ... workflows/

I'm an amateur director/DOP coming from a dSLR background, and the minute I started shooting with BMPCC (under a month now) I realised that this camera needs an entirely different approach — I never exposed for film before (save for some old Soviet photo cameras way back in the day) and I never exposed for digital film cameras, and yes BMPCC feels like an entirely different breed: zebras, ETTR, metering, what have you.

So what's your take on the article? How do YOU expose / light for BMPCC (and BMCC too, as I get it that the colour science is pretty much the same)? How does it fit in your workflow? Any suggestions on what to read / watch on the topic?

I have an old Minolta colour meter which I used to set WB on a dSLR (no other way around it if you're not sure about your light temperature) and a photographic incident light meter (but I'm not sure if it's of any serious use here) — should I kit out more? I shoot a lot of mixed material — day scenes, night scenes, incidental low-light, proper lighting etc.

Oh, and Sareesh from Wolfcrow sounds like he doesn't really care for RAW on BMPCC as ProRes is (at least according to him) is enough, but my own eyes (and the apparent gradeability of the resultant footage in DaVinci) is soooo way different that I'm not so sure he's 100% right.

So, guys. Ideas? Thoughts? Examples of your workflows? Useful links?

Chris Whitten

Re: Lighting for / exposing the BM(P)CC?

PostMon Nov 18, 2013 9:03 pm

I'm amazed to see quite a few people passing judgement on raw so quickly, about a week into it.
For me raw is a whole new ballgame on the pocket camera, albeit a hassle with the larger files.