Newbie Question About Speedboosters

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

BMCC Mark

PostTue Dec 10, 2013 10:46 pm

Hello everybody! I'm an amateur videographer, and recently jumped from a Canon GL-1 camcorder to a Blackmagic Cinema Camera - my first interchangeable lens system, and quite a jump! With this jump came the introduction to such attachments as speed boosters, and I was hoping somebody could clarify their use for me. I'm a little confused as to what the benefit is of using one, besides the additional f stop(s). I've read that it widens the field of view, although I don't understand why this is necessary! Can't the same effect just be accomplished by changing the camera placement? If I don't need the extra stops, is there really a reason to use one? Thanks, and please excuse my ignorance on the matter... this is all pretty new to me! :lol:

- Cinematography newbie, Mark

Grzegorz Styczen

Re: Newbie Question About Speedboosters

PostTue Dec 10, 2013 11:03 pm

When you widen your FOV, it's easier to get shallow depth of field.

So without speedbooster, your 50mm lens turns into ~130mm (too lazy to do the math), but DOF/bokeh stays the same.

With it you get about 85mm (bokeh always stays the same if you don't touch the aperture ring).

Additionaly, it's a really good nikon->mft adapter and has another clickless aperture ring, useful for digital lenses...

Cheers!

adamroberts

PostTue Dec 10, 2013 11:18 pm

The Speed Booster effectively makes the sensor bigger (by reducing the size of the image circle that the lens is producing).

So any lens on a BMCC connected via Speed Booster would perform in a similar way it would perform on an ASP-C or Super35mm camera.

BMCC Mark

PostTue Dec 10, 2013 11:43 pm

Thanks for the quick replies. Helped a lot, thanks!

Mac Jaeger

PostWed Dec 11, 2013 12:01 am