Camera(s) Do Not Power Up properly since firmware update

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

thecoach2000

Camera(s) Do Not Power Up properly since firmware update

PostSat May 27, 2023 9:29 am

2 issues since the new 8.1.1 firmware update and I’m looking for tech feedback or solutions…if any??
I am using 3, BM6k cameras. 2 Pro 6ks (purchased at different times and form different vendors) and 1 older 6k. I’ve been using them for 2-4 years and 100s of hours on a variety of doc series. 2 have had their entire internal board replaced by BM and now they all have the current software/firmware updates (May 2023).
ISSUE #1
Since the update ALL the cameras randomly will not TURN ON. Just a black screen.
Sometimes the power light indicator is not even illuminated. Showing that no power is going to the camera.
I use V-lock batteries with a Kondor Blue (regulated) D-Tap hub. The cameras are powered by the hub directly from the regulated top power tap. The cameras worked flawlessly before the firmware upgrade. Now 20% of the time the cameras will not power up. I must turn off the camera, let it sit for 30 seconds, disconnect cables, and try again. Sometimes that works the first time, but it may take 3-4 attempts.
I have replaced the cables.
I have connected cables directly into the battery, bypassing the Kondor Blue power hub.
I have tried different V-Lock batteries.
There is NO internal battery in the camera.
This random anomaly happens every time.
Any solutions or bug fixes in the future?

ISSUE #2
I use Tentacle Timecode boxes on all 3 cameras. 2 older versions and 1 newer version. And prior to the new firmware update I never had any issues with TC or EXT TC.
Randomly on power up, the cameras will show 00:00:00:00 on the TC display. Even though they are getting TC from the Tentacle system. This will happen randomly throughout the day of shooting.