CFast card not reading right after formatting

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

nlenzi

CFast card not reading right after formatting

PostThu Jun 08, 2023 8:26 pm

I'm brand new to Blackmagic, I've been using the Pocket Cinema Camera 6k for two days and ran into a CFast issue.

I had backed up my footage from the previous day of shooting so I decided to format the CFast card before getting started. It is a SanDisk Extreme Pro 512gb card. I used the camera to format it and formatted it to exFAT. Moments after doing so the card wouldn't read anymore. I turned the camera on and off, took the card in and out, nothing. I plugged it into my PC with a card reader that had worked previously when I backed up the footage and that didn't work either. I also tried scanning it for hardware changes in device manager. It won't even show up in disk management.

I tried to get creative and put the card in our Canon C200 to format it there. It read the card but could not format it due to a critical error. I have no idea what happened to my card. Again, I'm brand new to this camera so I understand I could've made a mistake. If anyone has any suggestions that would be greatly appreciated.

rick.lang

Re: CFast card not reading right after formatting

PostFri Jun 09, 2023 5:32 pm

Assuming the full description of the card is Sandisk Extreme Pro CFast 2.0 SDCFSP-513G-x46D, it’s an approved card and you did retrieve media from the card.

That’s a very unusual situation you are facing. I’m assuming you didn’t erase anything while the card was in the card reader but only read from the card. Presumably everything looked normal when you put the card back in the camera and formatted it for exFAT. Did the format operation give you the message that the card was successfully formatted and ready to use? If you returned to the normal shooting screen, did you see the card mounted for a few moments?