BMPCC 4K deleting my files

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

ethanxatris

BMPCC 4K deleting my files

PostWed Feb 21, 2024 7:14 pm

Hello internet,
I have been having this problem where I record on my BMPCC4K, and then I go home to transfer the footage only for nothing to be there. This has happened to me three times now, luckily each time I was recording a rather inexpensive B-roll shot but there are times where I am recording all day very expensive (for me) short films and I cannot have this happen then.
The first two times this happened I was shooting onto a T5 SSD formatted to exFAT. Trying to solve the problem I started shooting to a CFast card formatted to macOS Extended (Journaled), but the problem persists.
So my question is how can I prevent this from happening again? I believe a contributing problem may be that I did not format the card the last two times it has happened (I cannot recall if it was formatted for the first time). Do you think it could just be a fluke accident that happens when the card is not clean or something else?
Thanks for your help.

Link to post from last time this happened:
https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=184874

Uli Plank

Re: BMPCC 4K deleting my files

PostThu Feb 22, 2024 1:46 am

Always format in camera, don't use exFAT, and have the camera stop on dropped frames.
If it still happens, you may have a defective storage. But check your cable first.
Now that the cat #19 is out of the bag, test it as much as you can and use the subforum.

Studio 18.6.6, MacOS 13.6.6, 2017 iMac, 32 GB, Radeon Pro 580
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPhone 15 Pro
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G

Alex Mitchell

PostThu Feb 22, 2024 3:16 am

ethanxatris wrote:I believe a contributing problem may be that I did not format the card the last two times it has happened (I cannot recall if it was formatted for the first time).

FORMAT YOUR CARDS IN YOUR CAMERA BEFORE EVERY USE