Flicker only in Adobe Camera Raw and not in Lightroom

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Andreas Kaufmann

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:24 am

Flicker only in Adobe Camera Raw and not in Lightroom

PostMon Mar 10, 2014 10:07 am

Hi,

I had some footage which got some flicker issues when processing with adobe camera raw..
Did anyone using Lightroom having the same problem?

If not, lightroom would be a good alternative..
www.andreas-kaufmann.net
Offline
User avatar

Tom

  • Posts: 1626
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:08 am
  • Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Flicker only in Adobe Camera Raw and not in Lightroom

PostMon Mar 10, 2014 11:00 am

If you change the Process from "2012 (current)" to 2003, you will lose a whole load of raw processing options and the quality will reduce, but it will work without flickering.
Tom Majerski
http://tetragrade.com/
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm5157752/
Offline

Andreas Kaufmann

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:24 am

Re: Flicker only in Adobe Camera Raw and not in Lightroom

PostMon Mar 10, 2014 3:22 pm

you mean in acr or in lr?
I'm actually interested in what causes the flicker in ACR..
www.andreas-kaufmann.net
Offline
User avatar

Tom

  • Posts: 1626
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:08 am
  • Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Flicker only in Adobe Camera Raw and not in Lightroom

PostMon Mar 10, 2014 3:58 pm

AndiDieMaus wrote:you mean in acr or in lr?
I'm actually interested in what causes the flicker in ACR..


ACR. It is down to how the newer methods of adobe raw processing use localised modifications rather than global ones, so as the scene changes from frame to frame, there is a slight difference in how it applies certain adjustments. Because it assumes they are stills and not motion, the values are not consistent through the image sequence - resulting in flickering.
Tom Majerski
http://tetragrade.com/
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm5157752/
Offline

Andreas Kaufmann

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:24 am

Re: Flicker only in Adobe Camera Raw and not in Lightroom

PostMon Mar 10, 2014 4:50 pm

thanks tom.. interesting..
what is your workflow to get maximum quality? do you use resolve?
www.andreas-kaufmann.net
Offline
User avatar

Tom

  • Posts: 1626
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:08 am
  • Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Flicker only in Adobe Camera Raw and not in Lightroom

PostMon Mar 10, 2014 5:13 pm

AndiDieMaus wrote:thanks tom.. interesting..
what is your workflow to get maximum quality? do you use resolve?



Yes, I use resolve. It can be a steep learning curve - I began to use it only 2 years ago - but once you find your feet with it, it really is outstanding.
Tom Majerski
http://tetragrade.com/
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm5157752/

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests