BMCC + MFT explained?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

oweninnes

BMCC + MFT explained?

PostSun Apr 06, 2014 2:07 am

All,

Is there somewhere/ a one-stop-shop which outlines everything I need to know about MFT mounting/ what lenses work/ will all m4-3 lenses adapt natively etc./ will speed boosters only accept certain lenses ?

I am new to the world of this kind of cinema camera's and am very happy to scour around for ages looking, but hoped someone on here might be able to point me in the right direction.

Thanks,

O

Dustin Boswell

Re: BMCC + MFT explained?

PostSun Apr 06, 2014 4:48 am

There isn't a one-stop-shop outline.

However:

The MFT lenses will mount to the Blackmagic Cinema Camera MFT however it is not an Active MFT mount meaning that the electronic features (autofocus, auto iris, image stabilization) - they will Work however none of their electronics will work (Although for the BMCC I'd check the FAQ in the support section first).

On the Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera however it has an Active mount meaning that the lenses on Blackmagic's FAQ in the support section work properly (autofocus, auto iris, image stabilization).

The Speedbooster's currently come in 2 different mounts for the Blackmagic Camera's:Nikon G (Nikon F mount with the ability to run the newer G lenses that do not have an aperture ring), and Leica R mount. You cannot mount a MFT lens to a Speedbooser because the speedbooster effectively magnifies the image on the sensor giving the FoV of S35 roughly - the lens would not cover the sensor and would Vignette.

The Beauty of the MFT Mount is that you can find adapters for pretty much any lens that will cover the sensor (even C Mounts, however I would not use a C mount lens on a BMCC in particular as the lens will not cover the sensor=vignetting).

Metabones has mentioned somewhere that they are working on a EF mount version, however I'm pretty sure it won't be a powered.