A7s + Atomos Shogun

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Charly Doo

  • Posts: 75
  • Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 6:39 pm

A7s + Atomos Shogun

PostMon Apr 07, 2014 7:19 pm

Sounds like a good replacement for all us with a paper weight labeled as a production camera.
Offline
User avatar

Rakesh Malik

  • Posts: 2955
  • Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:01 am
  • Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: A7s + Atomos Shogun

PostMon Apr 07, 2014 7:51 pm

Charly Doo wrote:Sounds like a good replacement for all us with a paper weight labeled as a production camera.


If the A7s supported higher output bit rates on HDMI, sure. Since it's limited to 8 bit and is probably using at best 4:2:2 (most likely 4:2:0) chroma subsampling, it's not really in the same league as far as image quality.
Rakesh Malik
Cinematographer, photographer, adventurer, martial artist
http://WinterLight.studio
System:
Asus ZenBook Pro Duo i9 Octacore/32GB/2060

Alienware M15 Hexacore i7/32GB/1070 Max-Q
Offline

Corrupt Frame, Inc.

  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:38 pm

Re: A7s + Atomos Shogun

PostMon Apr 07, 2014 8:53 pm

It's 8-bit 4:2:2...
Offline
User avatar

Rakesh Malik

  • Posts: 2955
  • Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:01 am
  • Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: A7s + Atomos Shogun

PostMon Apr 07, 2014 9:46 pm

Corrupt Frame, Inc. wrote:It's 8-bit 4:2:2...


Sigh. Crippled to avoid cannibalizing sales of the F5 and F55, clearly.

It's also incentive for people to look harder at the likes of the Cion and Ursa, though.
Rakesh Malik
Cinematographer, photographer, adventurer, martial artist
http://WinterLight.studio
System:
Asus ZenBook Pro Duo i9 Octacore/32GB/2060

Alienware M15 Hexacore i7/32GB/1070 Max-Q

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JordanWright, Nick Heydon and 29 guests