BMPCC HDMI question.

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Howard L Hughes

  • Posts: 112
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:01 am

BMPCC HDMI question.

PostFri Apr 11, 2014 1:23 pm

With all the new RAW recorders coming out at NAB2014 does BMD think opening the HDMI to record raw is a capable option?
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: BMPCC HDMI question.

PostFri Apr 11, 2014 3:33 pm

HDMI is not a general purpose data bus, there is no possible way to record RAW through hdmi.

It would even be progress if the pockets' hdmi port could provide more framerate/interlacing options, to make it work with the majority of low-budget evfs and fieldmonitors.
Offline

Howard L Hughes

  • Posts: 112
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:01 am

Re: BMPCC HDMI question.

PostFri Apr 11, 2014 4:36 pm

so how does the shogun record 4k raw out of the hdmi
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: BMPCC HDMI question.

PostFri Apr 11, 2014 8:36 pm

It does not. It may record uncompressed, but there is - to the best of my knowledge - no way to transfer true (undebayered) raw data over HDMI.
Offline

Pavel Lavrov

  • Posts: 705
  • Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:24 am

Re: BMPCC HDMI question.

PostFri Apr 11, 2014 9:10 pm

Howard L Hughes wrote:so how does the shogun record 4k raw out of the hdmi

It also has 12G-SDI and it claims "4K and Raw are the future of professional video production." who knows what specs they have in store... there's still not much info available... :D
Pavel L
Offline

Howard L Hughes

  • Posts: 112
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:01 am

Re: BMPCC HDMI question.

PostFri Apr 11, 2014 9:21 pm

i think your right. i believe raw is through the HD SDI
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: BMPCC HDMI question.

PostSat Apr 12, 2014 12:11 pm

Still a recorder can only record "raw" if the camera delivers it - and that's not very likely, even over SDI, as "raw" is not a specific image format in itself, but dependent on the sensor and readout electronics. I fear, atomos actually means "uncompressed DNxHD" (or "lossless").
Offline

Howard L Hughes

  • Posts: 112
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:01 am

Re: BMPCC HDMI question.

PostSat Apr 12, 2014 4:03 pm

its a 12g sdi. the Odyssey records raw over SDI
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: BMPCC HDMI question.

PostSat Apr 12, 2014 6:01 pm

Howard L Hughes wrote:the Odyssey records raw over SDI

From which cameras?
Offline

Howard L Hughes

  • Posts: 112
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:01 am

Re: BMPCC HDMI question.

PostSat Apr 12, 2014 6:10 pm

if you go to there website it says. but i will copy and paste.

Compressed and Uncompressed recording is included in the Odyssey7Q and requires Convergent Design SSD Media for capture. Odyssey7Q can be upgraded with Options, including ARRIRAW, Canon C500 4K Raw, Sony FS700 Raw; Multi-Stream HD and 2K Raw availble soon.

RAW Record Options
Optional recording features available at any time for purchase, extending the capabilities of the Odyssey7Q. RAW Recording options include ARRIRAW (ALEXA), Canon RAW (C500), Sony RAW (FS700) In the future, the ARRIRAW (ALEXA), Canon RAW (C500) may be rented on a daily basis, if desired. Please note that these Options are only available on the Odyssey7Q and not the Odyssey7. Also, the Odyssey7 cannot be upgraded to the Odyssey7Q.
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: BMPCC HDMI question.

PostSat Apr 12, 2014 9:47 pm

There you go. You need the camera to offer raw output, and you need sdi. No way to record raw from bmpcc over hdmi.

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 39 guests