Zeiss ZE kit from B&H or ZF kit?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

andyteel

Zeiss ZE kit from B&H or ZF kit?

PostWed Apr 30, 2014 6:58 pm

Calling on some experienced users out there. I am a graphic designer/amateur photographer who has over the last 2 years been awarded the sub-title videographer. We own the BMPC 4K and have purchased the Zeiss ZE kit of FFL glass. We were sold on this because the ZE glass is cannon EF mount to match the camera. I have noticed that the iris control on the camera is kinda finicky and I never use auto focus when shooting video. Would it be a better idea to exchange my ZE glass (electronic aperture control) for the ZF (manual aperture but nikon mount) and just adapt to EF of the camera. What would be the pros and cons. Thanks so much for the wealth of knowledge you all provide so regularly.

Andy
MacBook Pro (15-inch, 2018) • 2.2 GHz 6-Core Intel Core i7 • 32 GB 2400 MHz DDR4 • Radeon Pro 560X 4 GB

2X BMPCC 6k Gen 1
ATEM Mini Pro ISO
DaVinci Resolve 18 Studio (Cloud)

AdrianSierkowski

Re: Zeiss ZE kit from B&H or ZF kit?

PostWed Apr 30, 2014 7:31 pm

I am always a fan of manual aperture. Especially since you can get them cine-modded for better motion picture use (and I think they can permamount an EF onto them too)
Adrian Sierkowski
Director of Photography
http://www.adriansierkowski.com
adrian@adriansierkowski.com

adamroberts

PostWed Apr 30, 2014 7:32 pm

I own a set of cine modded Zeiss ZF.2's

Pros:
• The ZF.2's have an aperture ring so you get full manual control over the iris.
• Iris can be professionally de-clicked.
• Adding an adaptor, it ca be used on EF mount, MFT mount, E mount, etc. So it's pretty versatile. The ZE's are locked into the EF mount.

Cons: