Does the EF mount version of the camera support autofocus?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Jackster

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:20 am

Does the EF mount version of the camera support autofocus?

PostWed Dec 19, 2012 5:24 am

This is a question which I consider vital, yet the answer has been difficult to locate. I have checked blogs, searched this forum and scanned google trying to ascertain does, the EF mount version of the camera support autofocus? is there a link I get get some info on the autofocus of the EF lens on the blackmagic CC?
Offline
User avatar

adamroberts

  • Posts: 4514
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:27 am
  • Location: England, UK

Re: Does the EF mount version of the camera support autofocu

PostWed Dec 19, 2012 7:59 am

No, there is no Autofocus.

Even the Canon 5D does not Autofocus in video mode.

The EF mount lets you control the aperture/iris of Canon EF, Canon EF-S and Carl Zeiss ZE lenses. It also enable IS on those lenses that have IS.
Offline
User avatar

Christian Schmeer

  • Posts: 904
  • Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 5:07 pm
  • Location: London, UK

Re: Does the EF mount version of the camera support autofocu

PostWed Dec 19, 2012 11:36 am

To be honest, you wouldn't really want to autofocus on this camera, its not really the point-and-shoot kind.
Christian Schmeer - DP / Colourist
www.christianschmeer.com
www.vimeo.com/christianschmeer

matthijsliethof

Re: Does the EF mount version of the camera support autofocu

PostWed Dec 19, 2012 1:45 pm

adamroberts wrote:The EF mount lets you control the aperture/iris of Canon EF, Canon EF-S and Carl Zeiss ZE lenses. It also enable IS on those lenses that have IS.


How about Tamron lenses with their version of IS? (VC) and control of aperture/iris.

Does that work?
Offline

danallen82

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 2:35 pm

Re: Does the EF mount version of the camera support autofocu

PostWed Dec 19, 2012 2:07 pm

But here's another question, it should have some focusing function due to the huge "focus" button on the upper right side of the camera. Sure it may not be auto-focus but a momentary focus, right?
Offline

Franckfc92

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:07 pm
  • Location: Paris, France

Re: Does the EF mount version of the camera support autofocu

PostWed Dec 19, 2012 3:11 pm

No, it's a peaking function or something like that to help you to focus, not an auto-focus. It's true that the name of this button can make confusion.
Offline
User avatar

Christian Schmeer

  • Posts: 904
  • Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 5:07 pm
  • Location: London, UK

Re: Does the EF mount version of the camera support autofocu

PostWed Dec 19, 2012 3:28 pm

Franckfc92 wrote:No, it's a peaking function or something like that to help you to focus, not an auto-focus. It's true that the name of this button can make confusion.


Yes, and there is also a double-tap function on the touch screen display, which will show you a crop of the image for easier focusing.
Christian Schmeer - DP / Colourist
www.christianschmeer.com
www.vimeo.com/christianschmeer
Offline
User avatar

Peter J. DeCrescenzo

  • Posts: 2313
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Portland, Oregon USA

Re: Does the EF mount version of the camera support autofocu

PostWed Dec 19, 2012 5:18 pm

Franckfc92 wrote:No, it's a peaking function or something like that to help you to focus, not an auto-focus. It's true that the name of this button can make confusion.


On page 15 in the BMCC user manual it says:

==================
Focus Button
The focus button allows you to sharpen the images without affecting your recorded picture, as it creates a peaking edge around the sharpest part of the image to confirm focus.

To turn on, press the FOCUS button located near the top-right of the touchscreen.

The FOCUS button turns on focus peaking which highlights the edges in your scene which are in focus and helps you get accurate focus when using manual lenses.

Focus Zoom - Double Tap
Double tap the touchscreen display to zoom in to the image to help you adjust focus at the 1:1 pixel scale. Double tap the display again to zoom out.
==================

You can download the BMCC user manual PDF here:
http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support/
http://www.peterdv.com
Offline

Jackster

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:20 am

Re: Does the EF mount version of the camera support autofocu

PostWed Dec 19, 2012 11:11 pm

Okay, that makes things a lot clearer,

However, now i have another question. How do you guys focus on a moving subject which is 2-5ft away? with a DSLR you could use the follow focus, or the auto focus would update if the shutter was half pressed for the next shot.

I am coming from an Sony EX3 (which is a rubbish piece of gear) and was hoping that the BMCC would be knocking that horrid camera off as primary camera.

P.S I film a fishing show for cable which is why it is hard to work with something that doesn't have some sort of auto-focus. I don't have the luxury to set my shot up, sometimes things happen so quickly the camera's boot-up time burns precious seconds.
Offline
User avatar

adamroberts

  • Posts: 4514
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:27 am
  • Location: England, UK

Re: Does the EF mount version of the camera support autofocu

PostWed Dec 19, 2012 11:57 pm

You would focus manually by rotating the focus ring or using a follow focus. Same as you do an other cinema cameras like the Arri Alexa.
Offline
User avatar

Nick Bedford

  • Posts: 352
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 3:56 am
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Does the EF mount version of the camera support autofocu

PostThu Dec 20, 2012 12:19 am

I don't think this camera is designed that well for what you want to do.
Nick Bedford, Photographer
http://www.nickbedford.com/

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests