URSA Mini 4k Noise Issue

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Andy Chan

URSA Mini 4k Noise Issue

PostTue Dec 15, 2015 12:17 am

I've been shooting my ursa mini for few weeks. I noticed there is a good amount of noise/texture on shaded area when shooting on iso 400 or above.

I am not sure if this is how ursa mini suppose to be. If it is, then I really regret buying this camera.

But Daniel Peter's low light test was quite clear and smooth even when shooting in iso 800. And he said he did not see any noise pattern:

I sent some raw images to blackmagic. They said they don't see any issue but is willing to provide RMA.

I am new to shooting. I would really appreciate it if someone has ursa mini and can help explain how to fix this issue.

raw file: https://uofh-my.sharepoint.com/personal ... 33a034d5e7
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-12-11 at 11.30.47 AM.png
Screen Shot 2015-12-11 at 11.30.47 AM.png (192 KiB) Viewed 4654 times
Screen Shot 2015-12-11 at 11.32.31 AM.png
Screen Shot 2015-12-11 at 11.32.31 AM.png (374.55 KiB) Viewed 4654 times
Last edited by Andy Chan on Tue Dec 15, 2015 2:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Csaba Nagy

Re: URSA Mini 4k Noise Issue

PostTue Dec 15, 2015 2:00 am

It doesn't appear to be anything out of the ordinary. I don't have an Ursa Mini and have no experience with it myself. Did you boost shadows?
You would want smooth and clean image IMO you need to do some Noise Reduction.
Most cams do this in cam. No processing is done in BM's cams for Noise Reduction.
Especially RAW.
Csaba Nagy
Filmmaker
BMPCC4K

John Simatos

PostTue Dec 15, 2015 2:21 am

That noise test is highly compressed. And the noise is very clear in the second? Shot of the ursa mini.

I can't download the DNG from the link.. But your stills look very underexposed, are they crops of the video? Also, having the big ursa, I can tell you now the sensor does not look clean when underexposed.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk