BMCC and Sony A6300 - The Ultimate Combo (On a Budget)

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Randall Donadio

BMCC and Sony A6300 - The Ultimate Combo (On a Budget)

PostSun Mar 20, 2016 7:42 pm

Hey all,

So this forum helped me a lot. Not too long ago I was torn between several cameras and as I have mentioned, I needed BM in my life due to loving the color science, RAW and the grading that comes with it. I never hesitate to ask a question and people never hesitate to lend a hand. As a result, I wanted to post my experience thus far with these two cameras and using them together to cover each other's weaknesses in an attempt to assist people in a similar situation I was in.

Let me preface this by saying I am not a professional. I do this as a hobby and I am simply posting my experience to share with others as I want to give back as opposed to just continuously bothering the community for answers to my otherwise mundane questions.

I was torn between the A7SII and a BMCC. Turns out, with the release of the A6300 and it's sensor down sampling 6K to 4K; it was touted as having as good, if not better, quality than the A7SII for video. In-fact, there are several comparisons with it to the FS line. While it does produce great footage, a good lens is required (which I have). In an effort to keep things short, I scoured the internet to find a used BMCC with Resolve at a good price and I got one.

So, for the price of one A7SII, I picked up a used BMCC (I already had a speed booster and several very good Nikon glass such as Rokinon Cine lenses and Sigma 18-35 F1.8) and an A6300 with two lenses.

Let me tell you, they cover each other's weaknesses EXTREMELY well. Not only that, but matching the Sony footage to the BMCC does not take much effort. However, you will mostly be grading the Sony footage to look like the BMCC given Blackmagic's superior color science and skin tones (by far). But the effort to do this, is not much.