Does "filmic" = film ?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Thuyen Nguyen

Does "filmic" = film ?

PostThu Mar 24, 2016 1:08 pm

I recently signed up and been reading the forums, and I get the impression that film is considered the pinnacle of image quality by many. Clips are complimented by describing them as filmic. By saying "filmic" are people comaparing them to actual film stock or does it mean that it doesn't look like "video" (as in video from the old camcorders)

So in terms of image quality, how many people still think film is better than digital? or does filmic refer to something else?

Gene Kochanowsky

Re: Does "filmic" = film ?

PostThu Mar 24, 2016 2:18 pm

Hi Thuyen, I'm just an interested amateur, and I've seen the discussions you speak of. As far as I can tell the "film look" is a set of image imperfections, tonal ranges and motion artifacts that are prevalent in film cinematography. A digital camera that is said to have a "film look" would be able to reproduce these more or less. Since for the most part, all movie theaters in the world are either digital or soon to be digital, the "film look" is mostly a "look" from a technology from a moment in time. I've stated in this forum, that the artistic choice to create output that mimics the "film look" is the equivalent of "steam punking" the image. I've seen no discussion here that would make me change my mind about that.

Thuyen Nguyen

PostThu Mar 24, 2016 2:39 pm

Hi Gene, I think I agree with you. When I think of film look I think of some of the older movies I've seen. It doesn't seem that special to me but it looks like a lot of people like it. Maybe there is some other aspect we are missing.

Gene Kochanowsky

PostThu Mar 24, 2016 3:00 pm