Any Dark Spot Removal Techniques?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Ben Tobin

Any Dark Spot Removal Techniques?

PostThu May 16, 2013 9:23 pm

Hi,
I just got my camera yesterday and went to try it out today. Totally blown away by the results. I did, however, encounter the fabled dark spots. I've been frantically searching for a solution in resolve or after effects. I'm new to resolve but I was wondering if there might be a tutorial I could watch or some technique to get rid of it. I saw one phrase somewhere that I hope isn't true that it's an indicator of damage.
Ben Tobin

AdrianSierkowski

Re: Any Dark Spot Removal Techniques?

PostThu May 16, 2013 11:19 pm

you'd just have to motion track something to cover it up with. motion tracking in resolve is pretty amazing, so basically you'd do correction to make the black the same color as the surrounding what have you, and then motion track it through the scene.
Adrian Sierkowski
Director of Photography
http://www.adriansierkowski.com
adrian@adriansierkowski.com

Ben Tobin

PostFri May 17, 2013 3:14 am

Thanks, I'm still figuring Resolve out...not had too much success yet. I've also seen sort of a square block of feint lines surrounding the black spot in the middle of the sun. I was lucky in that only one test clip had this problem. I'm trying to get a grasp on how to avoid the issue if I need to get the sun in the shot.
Ben Tobin

spike

PostFri May 17, 2013 8:02 am

AE has a good clone stamp tool that works well on steady shots... you could also use clone stamp and motion track with a null object on a moving image? Or buy an F5;)
BMD products: -
ATEM 1 M/E
Teranex 2D
GPI/Tally
SDI distribution
HDMI to SDI converter
Sync Gen
Smartview HD
Smartview Duo
Ultrastudio Mini Recorder

popcornflix

PostFri May 17, 2013 9:37 am