Stop-motion with BMCC

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Nikolay Smirnov

  • Posts: 292
  • Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 8:34 pm
  • Location: Moscow

Stop-motion with BMCC

PostWed May 29, 2013 11:16 am

Hello, I am still sitting in the pain train of waiting for the original BMCC. Hopefully it comes in 3 months, as my reseller confirmed.

I've got a few questions.

I'm planning of doing stop motion animation and wondering if it's possible shooting still frames with that camera.
I am aware of the timelapse mode, but is it possible to shoot 2 still frames and that's it. I don't want to manually remove the unwanted frames, I just need 1 or 2 at a time. And is it possible of using some kind of remote trigging, so the camera won't shake.

Firmware update with the still framemode would be nice and handy for stop motion. Or any kind of silution.
DoP/Colorist
FADE Post-production
Offline

Mac Jaeger

  • Posts: 1810
  • Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:53 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: Stop-motion with BMCC

PostWed May 29, 2013 12:53 pm

Nikolay Smirnov wrote:And is it possible of using some kind of remote trigging, so the camera won't shake.

This camera has a LANC port, so you can use wired remote controllers. But it can't do single shots.
Offline

Felix Steinhardt

  • Posts: 205
  • Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 9:45 pm
  • Location: Karlsruhe / Germany

Re: Stop-motion with BMCC

PostWed May 29, 2013 1:26 pm

No single shots but you can set the timelapse to such a low intervall, like a frame every 5 seconds.
Offline
User avatar

Joseph Ciccarella

  • Posts: 135
  • Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 4:30 pm
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Stop-motion with BMCC

PostWed May 29, 2013 3:02 pm

Felix Steinhardt wrote:No single shots but you can set the timelapse to such a low intervall, like a frame every 5 seconds.


Hey Guys, I don't have my camera yet either. But if you can shoot 1 frame every 5 seconds? Couldn't you just start and stop that process to shoot 1 frame at a time?
Thanks.
Joseph Ciccarella
www.quietallaround.com
Offline
User avatar

sean mclennan

  • Posts: 1434
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:28 pm
  • Location: Toronto, ON

Re: Stop-motion with BMCC

PostWed May 29, 2013 3:03 pm

RAW is a series of stills. Simply use a LANC controller to start/stop recording in RAW and you can pull out a single still.

Probably better to just buy a cheap DLSR really...
Offline

Felix Steinhardt

  • Posts: 205
  • Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 9:45 pm
  • Location: Karlsruhe / Germany

Re: Stop-motion with BMCC

PostWed May 29, 2013 3:15 pm

Joseph Ciccarella wrote:
Felix Steinhardt wrote:No single shots but you can set the timelapse to such a low intervall, like a frame every 5 seconds.


Hey Guys, I don't have my camera yet either. But if you can shoot 1 frame every 5 seconds? Couldn't you just start and stop that process to shoot 1 frame at a time?
Thanks.


Yes, of course!
Offline
User avatar

Nikolay Smirnov

  • Posts: 292
  • Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 8:34 pm
  • Location: Moscow

Re: Stop-motion with BMCC

PostWed May 29, 2013 4:28 pm

sean mclennan wrote:RAW is a series of stills. Simply use a LANC controller to start/stop recording in RAW and you can pull out a single still.

Probably better to just buy a cheap DLSR really...

I don't want to waste money on a DSLR just for the case of animation.

I will be using cinema camera for many occasions, and stop motion is one of them.
DoP/Colorist
FADE Post-production
Offline
User avatar

Christian Schmeer

  • Posts: 904
  • Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 5:07 pm
  • Location: London, UK

Re: Stop-motion with BMCC

PostWed May 29, 2013 4:47 pm

Single frame capture, just one of many features that should really be added to the BMCC...
Christian Schmeer - DP / Colourist
www.christianschmeer.com
www.vimeo.com/christianschmeer

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: danielpanev, SaschaH and 53 guests