EF SpeedBooster for Ursa Mini Pro G2 ?

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

Filmforge

PostFri Mar 08, 2019 11:16 am

Hi!

As this is my first post here I'll start with a quick introduction. My name is Mike, I am a software developer by trade and filmmaker as a sideline. I am a Resolve user since Adobe announced their subscription model and as a camera I still use a Canon 5D MkIII with Magic Lantern RAW.

I've wanted to replace that camera for years and go 4K (and ergonomics) but there just wasn't anything below $20,000 or even near that mark that fulfilled my needs. The Mavo LF is the first and with a SpeedBooster the Ursa Mini Pro G2 would be the second. While I feel the Mavo LF may be a bit of a gamble, I'd order the new Ursa the day a SpeedBooster is announced for it.

So my questions are: Is it possible for the necessary lenses to fit in a UMP G2 EF-Mount adapter? Would it interfere with the ND-Filters?

What are my needs and why do I need a SpeedBooster/Full Frame?

I need full frame because of the lenses I use. To name just two, I use the TS-E 17mm in almost every project on the 5D MkIII and the 75mm Biotar surprisingly often. Both lenses only really make sense on a full frame sensor. While there's swirly bokeh to be had with other lenses and smaller image circles I'd have to buy them first. There is no alternative, however, to the TS-E 17mm, anywhere.

Also I'd like a camera with proper color science (read: colors out of camera that I like) or internal raw. So the FS7 (although full frame capable with a speed booster) wasn't mine. I also would like to record 4K 50p (at least).

So, the Ursa Mini Pro G2 comes as close as it gets to the perfect camera for me and with a SpeedBooster available the G2 will be it. Here's hoping...

Cheers...
...Mike

rick.lang

PostFri Mar 08, 2019 5:09 pm