Resolve configuration guides

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Terry Frechette

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 299
  • Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:49 am

Resolve configuration guides

PostWed Sep 12, 2012 11:05 pm

One of the frequently asked questions we are seeing on the forum is what configurations people should use with Resolve. The best place for seeing what systems you should be thinking about with Resolve are the configuration guides.

Here are the URLs to those guides. We have also just updated and added the new Linux configuration guide to this.

Mac Resolve Config Guide: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support/detail?sid=3948&pid=4446&leg=false&os=mac

Mac Resolve Lite Config Guide: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support/detail?sid=3948&pid=11735&leg=false&os=mac

Windows Resolve Config. Guide: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support/detail?sid=3948&pid=4446&leg=false&os=win

Windows Resolve Lite Config. Guide http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support/detail?sid=3948&pid=11735&leg=false&os=win

Linux Resolve Config. Guide: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support/detail?sid=3948&pid=4446&leg=false&os=linux
Offline
User avatar

Peter J. DeCrescenzo

  • Posts: 2313
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Portland, Oregon USA

Re: Resolve configuration guides

PostWed Sep 12, 2012 11:29 pm

EDIT: Sorry I didn't post this addendum sooner: BMD tech support helped me "resolve" this issue! Thanks again! See:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=896&p=7425&sid=7904d98ea197d9bb69369c3e4c66ad87#p7422

Hi Terry: I appreciate the links. I was already aware of those files, but I appreciate your posting them.

What would be great is if someone in BMD tech support would respond to my Resolve 9 Lite installation issue that I asked about over in the post production section of the forum.
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=896

The configuration guides you linked to don't appear to contain the information I need to get the software running on my MacBook Pro. Details are in my other post.

Thanks again!
Last edited by Peter J. DeCrescenzo on Thu Oct 11, 2012 2:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.peterdv.com
Offline

Gavin Benjamin

  • Posts: 87
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:31 pm
  • Location: Toronto

Re: Resolve configuration guides

PostWed Sep 12, 2012 11:52 pm

SOrry for asking this one question but i never seemed to get it answered i see that on the 2 gpu config u can use a gtx 690 is it possible to use it in a single gpu config
G.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8528
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Resolve configuration guides

PostMon Oct 08, 2012 1:03 pm

I believe Resolve will recognize the GTX 690 as a dual GPU and with the full version of Resolve use both.There are no user settings to manage the GPU selection.
Peter
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

jasonxinzhou

  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 1:50 am

Re: Resolve configuration guides

PostWed Oct 10, 2012 8:59 am

Gbenjamin wrote:SOrry for asking this one question but i never seemed to get it answered i see that on the 2 gpu config u can use a gtx 690 is it possible to use it in a single gpu config

in Lite version u got one GPU working and in Full version you got two
Offline
User avatar

Frank Glencairn

  • Posts: 1662
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:07 am
  • Location: Germany

Re: Resolve configuration guides

PostFri Oct 12, 2012 12:28 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:I believe Resolve will recognize the GTX 690 as a dual GPU and with the full version of Resolve use both.There are no user settings to manage the GPU selection.
Peter


That would be great. Terry can you conform that?
http://frankglencairn.wordpress.com/

I told you so :-)
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8528
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Resolve configuration guides

PostTue Oct 16, 2012 4:43 am

Hi, as expected, the GTX690 appears as two GPUs to the OS thus Resolve will see and use both. If you have another GPU for UI, then Resolve (full) will use both of the 690's GPUs for image processing. If you don't have a separate UI GPU, Resolve (full and lite) will use both, one for UI and one for image processing.
Peter
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

johnleee

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 6:26 am

Re: Resolve configuration guides

PostWed Dec 05, 2012 6:27 am

how about this for a homework assignment for everyone: solve BMC's problem and find them a new sensor. first one to find an ideal sensor gets a digital cookie :)
pitter

Return to Cinematography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests