BMPCC4K - slow boot when ssd full of clips

The place for questions about shooting with Blackmagic Cameras.
  • Author

FelikZ

BMPCC4K - slow boot when ssd full of clips

PostSat Aug 17, 2019 2:09 pm

Greetings forum,

I use samsung T5 ssd 1TB and I have shot amazing 945, short (2-7 seconds) videos in RAW Q0.

This files are consume 528 GB of space, so plenty to go.

What I have realized is that the more files I have, the slower my camera boots.
My use-case, I am traveling and run-and-gun all the time. To save battery life I am turning off/on the camera quite often.

Having 945 clips takes more than a minute to camera to allow recording to start. Basically I have missed a lot shots because of this issue.

Is there any workaroud, other than clean the ssd, to keep many clips and allow camera to shoot?

As a software developer, I predict that the issue might be in clips indexing / caching, during the boot.

I will love to disable this feature to have instant access and longer battery life.

Any thoughts?
Last edited by FelikZ on Sun Aug 18, 2019 8:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

rick.lang

Re: BMPCC4K - slow boot when ssd full of clips

PostSun Aug 18, 2019 5:19 am

Don’t know if this contributes to the slowdown but if the SSD is MLC multi-level cells, you may have slower performance after the device is half filled as it tries to fill the second layer of cells.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang

Chris Whitten

PostSun Aug 18, 2019 8:19 am

I make very short films, usually around 3 minutes. As such I don't need long takes.
I generally shoot clips of 20 to 30 secs, just so I know I have the shot and so I can find a good spot to cut into and out of the shot.
To be honest I don't know how you could work with 2 to 7 second shots, unless it's an animation.
Chris Whitten

FelikZ

PostMon Aug 19, 2019 3:22 pm

Perhaps the fact that you have so many extremely shot clips, the camera has to do significantly more work to find it's place in the SSD.