Stabilisation does not zoom in properly

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

edzusv

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 1:37 pm
  • Location: Riga, Latvia
  • Real Name: Edzus Viksna

Stabilisation does not zoom in properly

PostTue Nov 28, 2023 9:37 am

I am using Davinci Resolve Studio v.18.6.2 BUILD 2.

I have noticed a bug with stabilisation on Edit page. From time to time I notice a glitch where a stabilised footage creates a 1-3px size black line on the bottom of the frame. It is not a transparent line, but just a black line. I resolve this issue by applying a minor zoom in effect, however, that is very annoying and compromises the quality of shows I am creating as I might not notice the bug on individual cuts. I do go through around 1000 clips like those a day and it is very easy to slip one out of sign as this line is so small.

This bug has been present on previous Resolve versions across multiple Apple Mac Studio silicon computers.

I am currently using Apple Mac Studio with M1 Max chip.

Hopefully this is a minor issue that can be resolved with the next update!

Thanks,
Edzus
My system:
Apple M1 MAX Studio
Editor Keyboard
Speed Editor for my Asus TUF laptop
Offline
User avatar

edzusv

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 1:37 pm
  • Location: Riga, Latvia
  • Real Name: Edzus Viksna

Re: BUG: Stabilisation does not zoom in properly

PostTue Nov 28, 2023 10:05 am

I have attached a screenshot of the line. It is barely visable. It does not even cover the whole width of the frame. The annoying bit is that jumps on and off every frame. It kind of flickers on the bottom of the frame.

I am using a stabilisation on H.265 file that is being played at H.264 proxy.
    Mode: Perspective
    Cropping ratio: 0.250
    Smooth: 0.250
    Strength: 1.000

It still does it on camera original H.265
Attachments
Screenshot 2023-11-28 at 11.59.02.png
Screenshot
Screenshot 2023-11-28 at 11.59.02.png (529.31 KiB) Viewed 241 times
My system:
Apple M1 MAX Studio
Editor Keyboard
Speed Editor for my Asus TUF laptop
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 29502
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: BUG: Stabilisation does not zoom in properly

PostTue Nov 28, 2023 2:41 pm

I believe the Cropping Ratio is just a max limit the effect can use. It won't necessarily be zoomed in that much for every shot.

So if you increase that value...
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.
Offline
User avatar

edzusv

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 1:37 pm
  • Location: Riga, Latvia
  • Real Name: Edzus Viksna

Re: BUG: Stabilisation does not zoom in properly

PostWed Nov 29, 2023 7:38 am

Thank you Jim for your reply,

The stabilisation effect is actually zooming in without showing any borders of the frame. What this glitch seems to be is a generated black line that flickers and changes in size between 1 to 3 px. How do I know it is not a border of a clip? I have a footage underneath every clip I stabilise. I cannot see any information through that black pixel. It is some sort of bug that generates on top of the clip. I can resolve it by zooming in and leaving it outside of the frame. But as I said, it is, firstly, very annoying, and secondly, it does jeopardise quality of my work in case I miss it on occasional clip.

Does it make sense?
My system:
Apple M1 MAX Studio
Editor Keyboard
Speed Editor for my Asus TUF laptop

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 124 guests