No Playback In viewer window / cannot play timeline.

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

jakebane_87

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2023 10:03 pm
  • Real Name: Jake Bane

No Playback In viewer window / cannot play timeline.

PostThu Feb 02, 2023 10:07 pm

Hi I am having an issue where when I press play on the timeline, it does not begin playing. I can scrub through just fine but it wont play. I have no image in the playback window either. However, when I go into fairlight, I can play it and hear the audio just fine. I am on davinci resolve 18. I updated all my drivers, restarted the program and my pc twice. Not sure what the issue is. Let me know! Thanks!
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 6070
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: No Playback In viewer window / cannot play timeline.

PostFri Feb 03, 2023 9:59 am

How about helping us to help you with more information? ;)
Free or Studio version of Resolve? What version of Windows, amount of RAM, GPU, etc? What is the source, resolution and codec of your video clips?
You can never give too much information when asking for help.

If you see no video in the timeline but can play the audio, it could be that the video is 10bit. To work with that you would need the Studio version of Resolve.
Resolve Studio 18.6.5 build 7
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790, 24GB RAM, 2 x Evo 860 SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (546.01 Studio Driver), Win10 Home (22H2), Speed Editor, Faderport mk1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 + Samsung SA200, Canon C100mk2, Ninja 2, Zoom H2n.
Offline

jakebane_87

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2023 10:03 pm
  • Real Name: Jake Bane

Re: No Playback In viewer window / cannot play timeline.

PostFri Feb 03, 2023 4:26 pm

Hi, my system is running 16 gb of ram, an AMD Ryzen 9 5900x, and a rtx 3070 laptop edition. My video is 1920x1080 at 30 fps. All clips are either mp4s or mp3 files. I was able to edit my project fine for a week, but then randomly it stopped working. I have the same issue with every other project. Im not sure how to check the bit rate but im almost positive it is not 10 bit.
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 6070
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: No Playback In viewer window / cannot play timeline.

PostSat Feb 04, 2023 6:51 pm

You can check the bit rate by highlighting a clip in the Media Pool and opening the Metadata tab.

If still no joy post your log and NFO files like this:
Attachments
Log and NFO Information.JPG
Log and NFO Information.JPG (46.64 KiB) Viewed 2040 times
Resolve Studio 18.6.5 build 7
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790, 24GB RAM, 2 x Evo 860 SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (546.01 Studio Driver), Win10 Home (22H2), Speed Editor, Faderport mk1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 + Samsung SA200, Canon C100mk2, Ninja 2, Zoom H2n.
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 10791
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: No Playback In viewer window / cannot play timeline.

PostSun Feb 05, 2023 1:31 am

jakebane_87 wrote:Hi, my system is running 16 gb of ram, an AMD Ryzen 9 5900x, and a rtx 3070 laptop edition. My video is 1920x1080 at 30 fps. All clips are either mp4s or mp3 files. I was able to edit my project fine for a week, but then randomly it stopped working. I have the same issue with every other project. Im not sure how to check the bit rate but im almost positive it is not 10 bit.

For a lot of reasons, compressed H.264 files are not ideal for Resolve, especially on a laptop. You'd be better off transcoding those to DNxHR SQ in the original resolution.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

jakebane_87

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2023 10:03 pm
  • Real Name: Jake Bane

Re: No Playback In viewer window / cannot play timeline.

PostSun Feb 05, 2023 3:55 pm

It randomly started working again. When I went in to check my bit rate, the media was no longer showing up grey, and I can play the timeline now. If I have any more issues ill let you know. Thank you very much!
Offline

jakebane_87

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2023 10:03 pm
  • Real Name: Jake Bane

Re: No Playback In viewer window / cannot play timeline.

PostSun Feb 05, 2023 8:45 pm

Never mind, the issue started up again. Here is the link for the NFO and Capture Log.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing
Offline

jakebane_87

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2023 10:03 pm
  • Real Name: Jake Bane

Re: No Playback In viewer window / cannot play timeline.

PostSun Feb 12, 2023 7:18 pm

Charles Bennett wrote:You can check the bit rate by highlighting a clip in the Media Pool and opening the Metadata tab.

If still no joy post your log and NFO files like this:


I have posted them. Could you take a look?
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 6070
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: No Playback In viewer window / cannot play timeline.

PostSun Feb 12, 2023 9:44 pm

Those are for someone like Dwaine from BM to look at and respond to.
Resolve Studio 18.6.5 build 7
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790, 24GB RAM, 2 x Evo 860 SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (546.01 Studio Driver), Win10 Home (22H2), Speed Editor, Faderport mk1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 + Samsung SA200, Canon C100mk2, Ninja 2, Zoom H2n.
Offline

jakebane_87

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2023 10:03 pm
  • Real Name: Jake Bane

Re: No Playback In viewer window / cannot play timeline.

PostMon Feb 13, 2023 8:49 pm

Charles Bennett wrote:Those are for someone like Dwaine from BM to look at and respond to.


How can i get him to help me?
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 6070
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: No Playback In viewer window / cannot play timeline.

PostMon Feb 13, 2023 9:03 pm

He will hopefully see this thread and your logs and respond. You will see his, and other BMD support staff responses to posts all over the forum. Their names are always highlighted in blue.
Resolve Studio 18.6.5 build 7
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790, 24GB RAM, 2 x Evo 860 SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (546.01 Studio Driver), Win10 Home (22H2), Speed Editor, Faderport mk1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 + Samsung SA200, Canon C100mk2, Ninja 2, Zoom H2n.
Offline

sonic25549

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2023 10:58 pm
  • Real Name: Eric Wang

Re: No Playback In viewer window / cannot play timeline.

PostSun Nov 26, 2023 11:02 pm

jakebane_87 wrote:Hi I am having an issue where when I press play on the timeline, it does not begin playing. I can scrub through just fine but it wont play. I have no image in the playback window either. However, when I go into fairlight, I can play it and hear the audio just fine. I am on davinci resolve 18. I updated all my drivers, restarted the program and my pc twice. Not sure what the issue is. Let me know! Thanks!


Hey! I have the exact same issue, and I was wondering if you ever got a fix from this situation. Thanks!
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 6070
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: No Playback In viewer window / cannot play timeline.

PostTue Nov 28, 2023 10:25 pm

There are two scenarios that I know of that could cause this. This is guess work as I have zero details about your system, OS, and Resolve version.
If you are using the free version of Resolve and the video files are 10bit you will usually not get a picture. The free version only supports 8bit files. If you are using a desktop computer that has a discrete GPU (graphics card) your monitor needs to be plugged into the GPU and not the onboard graphics socket.
Resolve Studio 18.6.5 build 7
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790, 24GB RAM, 2 x Evo 860 SSDs, GTX1060/6GB (546.01 Studio Driver), Win10 Home (22H2), Speed Editor, Faderport mk1, Eizo ColorEdge CS230 + BenQ GW2270 + Samsung SA200, Canon C100mk2, Ninja 2, Zoom H2n.
Offline

sonic25549

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2023 10:58 pm
  • Real Name: Eric Wang

Re: No Playback In viewer window / cannot play timeline.

PostWed Nov 29, 2023 9:36 pm

https://streamable.com/ptj2qa

Here's a video of me trying to access playback of the media which matches what jakebane_87 was describing (in the Fairlight section, I could hear the audio, but I don't think OBS captured it). The media is fine, but I can't really edit anything.

I have the free version on 18.6.2, and here are my specs: AMD Ryzen 7 6800H with Radeon Graphics, 3201 Mhz, 8 Core(s), 16 Logical Processor(s). The thing is, I've been using Davinci for about 3 years now, and this only happened recently a couple months ago. In other words, I don't think this is due to improper system or OS, but perhaps I clicked some setting or hotkey that disabled the playback window?

Hopefully this helps!
Offline

sonic25549

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2023 10:58 pm
  • Real Name: Eric Wang

Re: No Playback In viewer window / cannot play timeline.

PostSun Jan 07, 2024 11:44 pm

Okay, so after putting it off for a while, I fixed it!

Re-installing didn't help, but apparently something was off in my system preferences. All I did was do a factory reset of the preferences (Preferences -> System -> 3 dots at top right -> Reset System Preferences), and now it's back to normal. Unsure what the problem was, but I suspect some kind of display or playback was accidentally turned off, likely by some unknown hotkey. Hope this helps people in the future :)
Offline

zek082

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2024 3:22 pm
  • Real Name: Lim Ze Kang

Re: No Playback In viewer window / cannot play timeline.

PostTue Jan 16, 2024 3:26 pm

jakebane_87 wrote:Hi I am having an issue where when I press play on the timeline, it does not begin playing. I can scrub through just fine but it wont play. I have no image in the playback window either. However, when I go into fairlight, I can play it and hear the audio just fine. I am on davinci resolve 18. I updated all my drivers, restarted the program and my pc twice. Not sure what the issue is. Let me know! Thanks!


I have the same issue here, been trying to reinstall, and reset preference but still not working, wonder if u have found the solution ? thanks !

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bettaTM, Bing [Bot], Jack Swart, Mark Sterne, roger.magnusson and 75 guests