Resolve 17 and Mac 5,1

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Tom Chase

  • Posts: 61
  • Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 12:04 am

Resolve 17 and Mac 5,1

PostTue Nov 10, 2020 8:51 pm

So,

Am I reading the tech specs right that us with supped up Mac Pros (5,1 series) are going to be left out on 17? I saw it said you need to be on Catalina, which according to Apple won't run on the 5,1's?

Tommy
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 2089
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: Resolve 17 and Mac 5,1

PostTue Nov 10, 2020 8:58 pm

a 5,1 will run catalina and big sur

but read again the recommendations for mac!

Minimum system requirements for macOS

macOS 10.14.6 Mojave
16 GB of system memory. 32 GB when using Fusion
Blackmagic Design Desktop Video version 10.4.1 or later
Integrated GPU or discrete GPU with at least 2GB of VRAM.
GPU which supports Metal or OpenCL 1.2.
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB SSD/4x4TB/7101A 4x2TB 970evo+/HP1344/BMD4k/RadeonVII
macOS 12.6.3
BMPCC 6k pro (7.9.1)
meike s35 cine 25mm, 35mm, 50mm, 75mm
resolve studio 18.1.4
mini panel
speed editor
desktop video 12.1
intensity pro 4k
atem extreme (8.6.1)
Offline

Tom Chase

  • Posts: 61
  • Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 12:04 am

Re: Resolve 17 and Mac 5,1

PostTue Nov 10, 2020 9:00 pm

Mark Foster wrote:a 5,1 will run catalina and big sur

but read again the recommendations for mac!

Minimum system requirements for macOS

macOS 10.14.6 Mojave
16 GB of system memory. 32 GB when using Fusion
Blackmagic Design Desktop Video version 10.4.1 or later
Integrated GPU or discrete GPU with at least 2GB of VRAM.
GPU which supports Metal or OpenCL 1.2.



Damn I guess I missed it - WOOOHOOO
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 2089
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: Resolve 17 and Mac 5,1

PostTue Nov 10, 2020 9:01 pm

for your interessest

5.jpg
5.jpg (28.73 KiB) Viewed 1915 times
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB SSD/4x4TB/7101A 4x2TB 970evo+/HP1344/BMD4k/RadeonVII
macOS 12.6.3
BMPCC 6k pro (7.9.1)
meike s35 cine 25mm, 35mm, 50mm, 75mm
resolve studio 18.1.4
mini panel
speed editor
desktop video 12.1
intensity pro 4k
atem extreme (8.6.1)
Offline

mark5009

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2020 10:39 pm
  • Real Name: Mark Probert

Re: Resolve 17 and Mac 5,1

PostMon Dec 14, 2020 2:58 am

Tom Chase wrote:Am I reading the tech specs right that us with supped up Mac Pros (5,1 series) are going to be left out on 17? I saw it said you need to be on Catalina, which according to Apple won't run on the 5,1's?


I'm a little late to this, but I'm happily running Resolve17b4 on a 5,1 (56Gb, RX580, 2xhexcore) using Mojave (10.14.6). I figure it is about the last release that will run on this hardware/software combo as Apple tries to turn everything into an iPad. However, until the day I need to get an M1, this setup work pretty well

.. m.
Resolve Studio 17b1|OSX 10.14.6|Mac Pro 5,1|56Gb-2x3.33GHz 6core|RX580 8Gb
Offline

Perry Mitchell

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2017 9:24 am

Re: Resolve 17 and Mac 5,1

PostTue Dec 15, 2020 6:37 am

A MacPro 5,1 will only run Catalina and BigSur if modded with OpenCore or similar. To be strict, it is the boot disk that gets modded, not the actual Mac and OS itself. Somehow this fools Apple to allow Catalina/BigSur to be loaded.
I have also got Catalina running apparently fine via OpenCore on my MacPro 5,1.
For those not aware, MacOS is now 64bit only so users of older 32 bit apps (AND plug-ins) will need to dual boot with an older OS like Mojave. OpenCore gives a boot loader screen during power up (even on non EFI GPUs) that make this easy.
We have to face the fact that taking a MacPro 5,1 into 2021 and beyond is dependent on Apple turning a blind eye to the Hackintosh community and allowing these hacks to work. In the same vein, in the long term support for any Intel Macs will be downgraded by the launch of ARM processors (M1 etc) I have several PowerPC Macs in the store room that are ‘only’ about 20 years old yet dead in the water for any current apps. I believe it is called Progress!
FWIW
Last edited by Perry Mitchell on Tue Dec 15, 2020 11:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 2089
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: Resolve 17 and Mac 5,1

PostTue Dec 15, 2020 9:46 am

opencore is a bootloader and does NOT modified the system!

and you can run it on a USB drive and it is not a must on the system drive

the screenshot above is from one of my mid 2012 mac pro 5,1
and has nothing todo with opencore


this is my main cMP 5,1 with OC 0.6.4:

cMP_bigsur.jpg
cMP_bigsur.jpg (28.28 KiB) Viewed 1786 times
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB SSD/4x4TB/7101A 4x2TB 970evo+/HP1344/BMD4k/RadeonVII
macOS 12.6.3
BMPCC 6k pro (7.9.1)
meike s35 cine 25mm, 35mm, 50mm, 75mm
resolve studio 18.1.4
mini panel
speed editor
desktop video 12.1
intensity pro 4k
atem extreme (8.6.1)
Offline

Perry Mitchell

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2017 9:24 am

Re: Resolve 17 and Mac 5,1

PostTue Dec 15, 2020 11:39 am

Sorry I stand corrected. The bottom line is NO MacPro 5,1 is officially supported by Apple for Catalina/BigSur and thus requires OpenCore or similar to be able to load them.
FWIW
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 2089
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: Resolve 17 and Mac 5,1

PostTue Dec 15, 2020 5:10 pm

shure, but DR17 works on mojave (is official supported by appe) on a 5,1

the readme of 17beta5 says:

Minimum system requirements for macOS

macOS 10.14.6 Mojave
16 GB of system memory. 32 GB when using Fusion
Blackmagic Design Desktop Video version 10.4.1 or later
Integrated GPU or discrete GPU with at least 2GB of VRAM.
GPU which supports Metal or OpenCL 1.2.
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB SSD/4x4TB/7101A 4x2TB 970evo+/HP1344/BMD4k/RadeonVII
macOS 12.6.3
BMPCC 6k pro (7.9.1)
meike s35 cine 25mm, 35mm, 50mm, 75mm
resolve studio 18.1.4
mini panel
speed editor
desktop video 12.1
intensity pro 4k
atem extreme (8.6.1)
Offline

Tom Chase

  • Posts: 61
  • Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 12:04 am

Re: Resolve 17 and Mac 5,1

PostFri Jan 01, 2021 12:08 am

Is it stable enough for a production system? Or is it still buggy?
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 2089
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: Resolve 17 and Mac 5,1

PostFri Jan 01, 2021 11:07 am

Tom Chase wrote:Is it stable enough for a production system? Or is it still buggy?


for a production system i would stay at mojave and 16.2.8

big sur 11.0.1 was very stable, but with 11.1 came some additional problems

DR 17 beta is also very stable on a cMP with big sur,
but i would not use it for a daily production system yet.

the main problem of big sur at the moment
is the worse GPU performance compared to mojave!
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB SSD/4x4TB/7101A 4x2TB 970evo+/HP1344/BMD4k/RadeonVII
macOS 12.6.3
BMPCC 6k pro (7.9.1)
meike s35 cine 25mm, 35mm, 50mm, 75mm
resolve studio 18.1.4
mini panel
speed editor
desktop video 12.1
intensity pro 4k
atem extreme (8.6.1)
Offline

Perry Mitchell

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2017 9:24 am

Re: Resolve 17 and Mac 5,1

PostThu Jan 21, 2021 8:32 am

It is all a right mess! My 5,1 is currently running on a choice of High Sierra, Mojave or Catalina dependant on what I’m doing. It’s a bit like having a car with a choice of diesel, petrol (gas) or electric motors!
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 2089
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am
  • Location: austria - no kangaroos +g*

Re: Resolve 17 and Mac 5,1

PostThu Jan 21, 2021 9:00 am

Perry Mitchell wrote:It is all a right mess! My 5,1 is currently running on a choice of High Sierra, Mojave or Catalina dependant on what I’m doing. It’s a bit like having a car with a choice of diesel, petrol (gas) or electric motors!


then your cMP is in a condition that is not far from the original delivery status, if at all.
a WIN or linux PC that has been running unchanged for 10 years will struggle just as much
with the current requirements.

for GOP formats like H264/H265 the cMP (although with its last supported mojave system
and a GPU with modern architecture under opencore and enabled hardeacceleration
also that is possible) is of course first choice, but with prores or BRAW an updated cMP can handle very well.

and yes, I know what I am writing about
had done this test some time ago where my cMP were not yet in the current state:

Screenshot 2021-01-21 at 10.05.31.jpg
Screenshot 2021-01-21 at 10.05.31.jpg (227.9 KiB) Viewed 1594 times
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB SSD/4x4TB/7101A 4x2TB 970evo+/HP1344/BMD4k/RadeonVII
macOS 12.6.3
BMPCC 6k pro (7.9.1)
meike s35 cine 25mm, 35mm, 50mm, 75mm
resolve studio 18.1.4
mini panel
speed editor
desktop video 12.1
intensity pro 4k
atem extreme (8.6.1)
Offline

Lsrvideo

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2020 11:04 pm
  • Real Name: Lou Rosenberg

Re: Resolve 17 and Mac 5,1

PostMon Nov 27, 2023 9:46 pm

Perry Mitchell wrote:A MacPro 5,1 will only run Catalina and BigSur if modded with OpenCore or similar. To be strict, it is the boot disk that gets modded, not the actual Mac and OS itself. Somehow this fools Apple to allow Catalina/BigSur to be loaded.
I have also got Catalina running apparently fine via OpenCore on my MacPro 5,1.
For those not aware, MacOS is now 64bit only so users of older 32 bit apps (AND plug-ins) will need to dual boot with an older OS like Mojave. OpenCore gives a boot loader screen during power up (even on non EFI GPUs) that make this easy.
We have to face the fact that taking a MacPro 5,1 into 2021 and beyond is dependent on Apple turning a blind eye to the Hackintosh community and allowing these hacks to work. In the same vein, in the long term support for any Intel Macs will be downgraded by the launch of ARM processors (M1 etc) I have several PowerPC Macs in the store room that are ‘only’ about 20 years old yet dead in the water for any current apps. I believe it is called Progress!
FWIW


Perry, I am too new to BMD Resolve having wasted too much time and $ on AdobePremierePro. I currently moved up to a MacPro5,1 32GB Ram with a SapphireRadeonRx580gpu. How do I get OpenCL1.2? and could you share how a site where I could get more info on "modding" my 5,1 to run Catalina?
all advice greatly appreciated. I m a retired Steadicam Op and videographer in upstate NY.
LouR
Offline

Lsrvideo

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2020 11:04 pm
  • Real Name: Lou Rosenberg

Re: Resolve 17 and Mac 5,1

PostWed Nov 29, 2023 1:12 am

Mark Foster wrote:a 5,1 will run catalina and big sur

but read again the recommendations for mac!

Minimum system requirements for macOS

macOS 10.14.6 Mojave
16 GB of system memory. 32 GB when using Fusion
Blackmagic Design Desktop Video version 10.4.1 or later
Integrated GPU or discrete GPU with at least 2GB of VRAM.
GPU which supports Metal or OpenCL 1.2.



Mark,
I m having issues with DR15.6 on a MacPro5,1 (2010) running Mojave. I m specifically getting the CUDA DRIVER missing error. I figured it was probably b/c I was running 15.6 on a Mac3,1 with the NvidiaGTX680 which needed the CUDA driver. Others have told me the drivers are a part of Mojave. Is this a BMD issue or should I just upgrade to DR17? The spec sheet for DR15 says CUDA driver support is needed. I m CONFUSED
any help straightening this mess out Greatly Appreciated.
LSR
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 20872
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Resolve 17 and Mac 5,1

PostWed Nov 29, 2023 1:36 am

There is no CUDA for newer systems. I'd do a fresh install if you can't get rid completely of that Nvidia stuff.
Maybe AI can help you. Or make you obsolete.

Studio 18.6.5, MacOS 12.7.3
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPhone 15 Pro
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G, iMac 2017, eGPU

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: danielpanev, eviluess, Google [Bot], ReginaldVanSeveren and 72 guests