Artifacts in DNXHR 444

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

dave4443

  • Posts: 476
  • Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 3:55 pm
  • Real Name: David Shutt

Artifacts in DNXHR 444

PostSun Dec 03, 2023 9:01 am

Whenever I export in DNXHR 444 I get terrible artifacts randomly

I'm not sure why it always happens with the higher codecs, but it's on multiple machines and it's been across multiple releases for a couple years where I've had to re export numerous times and hope to get lucky that it doesn't happen

Does anyone know what might be causing this?
Attachments
Artifacts.jpg
Artifacts.jpg (156.87 KiB) Viewed 943 times
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 9204
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Artifacts in DNXHR 444

PostSun Dec 03, 2023 9:24 am

Multiple machines with multiple releases sounds crazy.
1000s of people use Resolve and problems are not there.
We've seen issues on specific machines caused by eg. GPU problems on Macs, storage issue etc.
It was never for years over different releases.
Are all those machines at same place and share same element like GPU, network storage?
Offline

dave4443

  • Posts: 476
  • Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 3:55 pm
  • Real Name: David Shutt

Re: Artifacts in DNXHR 444

PostSun Dec 03, 2023 11:47 am

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:Multiple machines with multiple releases sounds crazy.
1000s of people use Resolve and problems are not there.
We've seen issues on specific machines caused by eg. GPU problems on Macs, storage issue etc.
It was never for years over different releases.
Are all those machines at same place and share same element like GPU, network storage?


It's happened on the work computer and home and then on a couple others from work when we tried it with there's

Not sure on their specs but my GPU is RTX 3070

I've tested it by exporting as a DNXHR HQX 10 bit and that's worked perfectly fine with no artifacts, for some reason the 444 has just never agreed with us as a team
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 9204
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Artifacts in DNXHR 444

PostSun Dec 03, 2023 11:54 am

Is it always the same project or totally different with different source assets?
Also- maybe issue with playing it back ?
Did you try different players or importing back to Resolve?
Last edited by Andrew Kolakowski on Sun Dec 03, 2023 11:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 20879
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Artifacts in DNXHR 444

PostSun Dec 03, 2023 11:55 am

What about Cineform?
Maybe AI can help you. Or make you obsolete.

Studio 18.6.5, MacOS 12.7.3
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPhone 15 Pro
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G, iMac 2017, eGPU
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 29475
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Artifacts in DNXHR 444

PostSun Dec 03, 2023 2:53 pm

What's your source material?


Is Optical Flow in use?
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.
Offline

dave4443

  • Posts: 476
  • Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 3:55 pm
  • Real Name: David Shutt

Re: Artifacts in DNXHR 444

PostSun Dec 03, 2023 4:19 pm

Source material is a mix of Blackmagic Pro Res and Sony MXF's then archive standard MP4s

Optical flow is on one or two things but not the things displaying artifacts

It's different projects and I notice it when I bring it back in to resolve or premiere

I just got to the end of this one and noticed a lovely artifact in the DNXHR version again , I'm going to blame it on using chrome and say that's why
Offline

Mads Johansen

  • Posts: 860
  • Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:51 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Artifacts in DNXHR 444

PostSun Dec 03, 2023 4:28 pm

dave4443 wrote:Source material is a mix of Blackmagic Pro Res and Sony MXF's then archive standard MP4s

Optical flow is on one or two things but not the things displaying artifacts

It's different projects and I notice it when I bring it back in to resolve or premiere

I just got to the end of this one and noticed a lovely artifact in the DNXHR version again , I'm going to blame it on using chrome and say that's why

Wait, chrome? Why? how?
Davinci Resolve Studio 18.6.5 Build 7, Windows 11, Nvidia 3060 TI, 551.23 Studio
Offline

dave4443

  • Posts: 476
  • Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 3:55 pm
  • Real Name: David Shutt

Re: Artifacts in DNXHR 444

PostSun Dec 03, 2023 6:34 pm

Mads Johansen wrote:
dave4443 wrote:Source material is a mix of Blackmagic Pro Res and Sony MXF's then archive standard MP4s

Optical flow is on one or two things but not the things displaying artifacts

It's different projects and I notice it when I bring it back in to resolve or premiere

I just got to the end of this one and noticed a lovely artifact in the DNXHR version again , I'm going to blame it on using chrome and say that's why

Wait, chrome? Why? how?


I was just curious if it was since chrome glitched during the export but I've just done it without chrome on and not going near my PC and it's still happened, this is painful, been exporting the same thing for a day >.<
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 9204
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Artifacts in DNXHR 444

PostSun Dec 03, 2023 10:52 pm

And I assume this is not showing inside Resolve, but only after export?
No idea then, but this is unworkable and definitely not normal.
Just check what scenes show issue and check what is used for those place in the project. 3rd party effects etc.
Offline

dave4443

  • Posts: 476
  • Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 3:55 pm
  • Real Name: David Shutt

Re: Artifacts in DNXHR 444

PostMon Dec 04, 2023 10:02 am

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:And I assume this is not showing inside Resolve, but only after export?
No idea then, but this is unworkable and definitely not normal.
Just check what scenes show issue and check what is used for those place in the project. 3rd party effects etc.


Yeah so in DNXHR 444, it happens seemingly at random, I remember a year ago having it and being stupid enough not to check the export after submitting it and then noticing the artifacts randomly

On DNXHQ it lessened and appeared to be the same clip each time which I had to remove, not sure what caused it since it worked fine in the player

I just think 444 is not an option for me right now after so many issues
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 9204
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Artifacts in DNXHR 444

PostMon Dec 04, 2023 10:25 am

No idea then.
There are no other such a reports and definitely there are people who use DNxHR444.
What if you use other codec eg. Cineform in its RGB mode?

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: martyeu, poodlewig, Snadegg and 111 guests