Metadata on Exporting?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Gabi Bucataru

  • Posts: 331
  • Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:39 am

Metadata on Exporting?

PostMon Dec 04, 2023 9:25 pm

Hi All,

Is there a way to specify or copy metadata (as in braw files) in exported individual clips (encoded to ProRes, or DNxHR)?

Thank you!
Resolve 18.6.2 Studio * WIN10 Pro 64-bit * intel core i7-7700K CPU 4.20Ghz * 32 Gb RAM * NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti *
Offline
User avatar

Gabi Bucataru

  • Posts: 331
  • Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:39 am

Re: Metadata on Exporting?

PostWed Feb 21, 2024 4:12 pm

Hello all!

Just wondering if you have any wisdom to share on having metadata embedded in exports.

Thank you!
Resolve 18.6.2 Studio * WIN10 Pro 64-bit * intel core i7-7700K CPU 4.20Ghz * 32 Gb RAM * NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti *
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 29396
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Metadata on Exporting?

PostWed Feb 21, 2024 9:33 pm

What kind of metadata?
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.
Offline
User avatar

Gabi Bucataru

  • Posts: 331
  • Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:39 am

Re: Metadata on Exporting?

PostWed Feb 21, 2024 9:52 pm

Jim Simon wrote:What kind of metadata?


I'm thinking of Shot & Scene, and Camera metadata

Thanks!
Resolve 18.6.2 Studio * WIN10 Pro 64-bit * intel core i7-7700K CPU 4.20Ghz * 32 Gb RAM * NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti *
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 29396
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Metadata on Exporting?

PostWed Feb 21, 2024 9:59 pm

Looks like that doesn't come through with Individual files.

Maybe try Proxies...?
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.
Offline
User avatar

Gabi Bucataru

  • Posts: 331
  • Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:39 am

Re: Metadata on Exporting?

PostWed Feb 21, 2024 10:04 pm

Jim Simon wrote:Looks like that doesn't come through with Individual files.

Maybe try Proxies...?


Thanks! I was trying to see if I could add meta to the dailies with Individual Files for the full resolution instead of the proxies.

That would be such a nice feature to have.

Thanks for help!
Resolve 18.6.2 Studio * WIN10 Pro 64-bit * intel core i7-7700K CPU 4.20Ghz * 32 Gb RAM * NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti *
Online

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 20709
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Metadata on Exporting?

PostThu Feb 22, 2024 1:28 am

Well, if they come through with proxies, you have a lot of flexibility to set the proxy format inside of DR.
The rest should be a candidate for a feature request.
Maybe AI can help you. Or make you obsolete.

Studio 18.6.5, MacOS 12.7.3
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPhone 15 Pro
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G, iMac 2017, eGPU

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], mindovermic, RedRider14, tlegvold, Uli Plank and 86 guests