Two windows in One Monitor with DaVinci Resolve?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

listcopy

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2022 7:07 pm
  • Real Name: Jesse Huber

Two windows in One Monitor with DaVinci Resolve?

PostThu Feb 22, 2024 3:34 am

I’m trying to figure out if I can have two windows side by side of equal size for the purpose of editing in DaVinci resolve and watching tutorials in the other window. I purchased a 32 inch monitor to be able to do this and I can figure out how to minimize the window for DaVinci Resolve enough.

I have searched everywhere for this and can’t find anyone to explain if this is even possible. I’m trying to avoid having to buy 2 monitors if possible.

The attached picture is the smallest I can get DaVinci Resolve and have another window open at the same time.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you and have a great day.
Attachments
IMG_3867 (1).jpeg
IMG_3867 (1).jpeg (935.24 KiB) Viewed 504 times
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 10997
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Two windows in One Monitor with DaVinci Resolve?

PostThu Feb 22, 2024 4:10 am

Ya know... I just play the tutorial on an iPad and set it off to the side when I need to use Resolve and watch one of the lessons at the same time.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Andy Mees

  • Posts: 3246
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:48 am

Re: Two windows in One Monitor with DaVinci Resolve?

PostThu Feb 22, 2024 10:25 am

listcopy wrote:I purchased a 32 inch monitor to be able to do this
As far as I am aware, Resolve's minimum supported screen resolution is 1680x1050... you won't be able to shrink the Resolve UI into a smaller space than that, regardless of the physical size of your monitor.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 30136
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Two windows in One Monitor with DaVinci Resolve?

PostThu Feb 22, 2024 2:39 pm

I use the Alt+Tab method to switch between full screen windows, myself.
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ariccobon, chuck1026, courtarro, mcdonc, panos_mts and 193 guests