Magic Mask all clips blue tracking turned red

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

MadPanic

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 12:07 am
  • Location: Gloucestershire, UK
  • Real Name: Declan Smith

Magic Mask all clips blue tracking turned red

PostWed Feb 21, 2024 4:55 pm

I have applied magic mask to a number of clips for BG/FG isolation. Each one has it's own tracking data which was blue last time I opened the project but each clip now has just the first frame and a red bar. I can clearly click the play forward for each clip in the magic mask node to get things back to where they should be, but it's a real pain having to go through each clip again on the color page / node tree. Any suggestions as to why this could be happening or any settings to help?

Screenshot 2024-02-21 at 16.54.07.png
Screenshot 2024-02-21 at 16.54.07.png (84.79 KiB) Viewed 549 times
DaVinci Resolve Studio 18.6.5 build7, MacStudio M2 Ultra 128Gb, OSX Sonoma,10TB SSD (2TB, & 2x 4TB). URSA Broadcast 6.7, BMPCC 6K, Cubase 13
Offline

Andy Mees

  • Posts: 3252
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:48 am

Re: Magic Mask all clips blue tracking turned red

PostWed Feb 21, 2024 5:05 pm

MadPanic wrote:I can clearly click the play forward for each clip in the magic mask node to get things back to where they should be, but it's a real pain having to go through each clip again on the color page / node tree.
Hey Declan
Instead of doing it one by one, you can right click the (three dots) options menu in the Magic Mask panel and choose Regenerate Object Mask > All Clips / Selected Clips.

MadPanic wrote:Any suggestions as to why this could be happening or any settings to help?
Magic Mask data is stored in your cache data ... it's inherently fragile. If you cleared your cache or did something to invalidate the cache then the magic mask(s) would need to be regenerated.

Hope it helps
Andy
Offline

MadPanic

  • Posts: 143
  • Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 12:07 am
  • Location: Gloucestershire, UK
  • Real Name: Declan Smith

Re: Magic Mask all clips blue tracking turned red

PostThu Feb 22, 2024 8:34 am

Andy Mees wrote:Magic Mask data is stored in your cache data ... it's inherently fragile. If you cleared your cache or did something to invalidate the cache then the magic mask(s) would need to be regenerated.


Thank you, that's solved it. I think it was down to me changing the color settings of the timeline that looks like it clears the cache.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 18.6.5 build7, MacStudio M2 Ultra 128Gb, OSX Sonoma,10TB SSD (2TB, & 2x 4TB). URSA Broadcast 6.7, BMPCC 6K, Cubase 13
Online
User avatar

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 21595
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Magic Mask all clips blue tracking turned red

PostThu Feb 22, 2024 9:52 am

It’s not cleared, only invalidated. So, watch your storage space.
Now that the cat #19 is out of the bag, test it as much as you can and use the subforum.

Studio 18.6.6, MacOS 13.6.6, 2017 iMac, 32 GB, Radeon Pro 580
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPhone 15 Pro
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 4559
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Magic Mask all clips blue tracking turned red

PostThu Feb 22, 2024 12:48 pm

Uli Plank wrote:It’s not cleared, only invalidated. So, watch your storage space.

That's a good point, Uli. Does clearing the render cache for the clip to which the MM was applied clear up the disk spaced used by the invalidated cache or must you go to the timeline or project level? I'd be interested to test (I usually hit it with a pretty big hammer).
Time Traveller
Resolve Studio 19.0b1 | Fusion Studio 19.0b1 | Win 11 Pro (22H2) | i9-7940x, P4000 (536.96, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) 16" MacBook Pro M1 MAX, 32 GPU cores, 64 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, Sonoma 14.4
Online
User avatar

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 21595
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Magic Mask all clips blue tracking turned red

PostThu Feb 22, 2024 1:10 pm

Never checked that, but Clear Unused should suffice
Now that the cat #19 is out of the bag, test it as much as you can and use the subforum.

Studio 18.6.6, MacOS 13.6.6, 2017 iMac, 32 GB, Radeon Pro 580
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPhone 15 Pro
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 4559
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Magic Mask all clips blue tracking turned red

PostThu Feb 22, 2024 1:48 pm

Uli Plank wrote:Never checked that, but Clear Unused should suffice

Thx
Time Traveller
Resolve Studio 19.0b1 | Fusion Studio 19.0b1 | Win 11 Pro (22H2) | i9-7940x, P4000 (536.96, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) 16" MacBook Pro M1 MAX, 32 GPU cores, 64 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, Sonoma 14.4

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Benisjammin, Bing [Bot], KrunoSmithy, Nick2021 and 127 guests