Dongle

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

dgrigo

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2024 5:04 pm
  • Real Name: Konstantinos Grigoriou

Dongle

PostFri Feb 23, 2024 10:05 am

Hello,
Got this dongle second hand and worried if i got the real deal, working on latest DaVinci.
The Hardware id is ......2453 , I don't want all this to be public so first 6 numbers are hidden.
If someone from BlackMagic support ask for it I will send the complete id in PM.
I am worried also as I can't find anywere whats the policy of fried dongles is, as i cant use code based lock, because of strict policies of some studios.

Can someone take a look if everything is legit, and explain to me the BlackMagic Policy of fried ones.
Dongle is working fine .

Thank you,
Konstantinos
Attachments
DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20240223-115526.zip
logs
(113.13 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
dongle.jpg
device manager
dongle.jpg (124.52 KiB) Viewed 473 times
Offline
User avatar

carlomacchiavello

  • Posts: 2609
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:04 pm
  • Location: italy

Re: Dongle

PostFri Feb 23, 2024 8:46 pm

In the second hand there are a lots of counterfeit dongle. Unfortunately.
Try to contact directly Blackmagic Design assistance on web site under support pages there is a contact form.
If you wait in website you could wait for ages, they had direct (email / phone) way.


Inviato dal mio iPhone utilizzando Tapatalk
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 11032
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Dongle

PostSat Feb 24, 2024 3:24 am

This has been going on for a few years. Fake one is on the bottom, real one on top:

Image

Note the typeface and color.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 30245
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Dongle

PostSat Feb 24, 2024 10:25 pm

dgrigo wrote:worried if i got the real deal
If Resolve ever stops working after an update...you didn't. :(
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.
Offline

dgrigo

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2024 5:04 pm
  • Real Name: Konstantinos Grigoriou

Re: Dongle

PostMon Feb 26, 2024 9:27 am

Thanks guys for answers, the one I have looks like the one on the top of the photo, but still uneasy.
@ Jim Simon, that don't sound very relaxing...
Anyway as i am waiting response from support, can anyone explain the policy of blackmagic if a legit dongle get fried and stop working?
an official answer or link will do for me

Thanks
Offline

dgrigo

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2024 5:04 pm
  • Real Name: Konstantinos Grigoriou

Re: Dongle

PostSat Mar 02, 2024 12:58 pm

Well, I send it back...
So closing this question, as I did'nt got any good or valid answers, and suppport was not helpfull too....

Thanks for everyone that tried.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 30245
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Dongle

PostMon Mar 04, 2024 10:37 pm

dgrigo wrote:Well, I send it back...
That's probably best. Studio is only $300, probably one of the least expensive pieces of "gear" needed to do this job. Paying full price for a new license from an authorized reseller is a good choice. ;)
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.
Offline
User avatar

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 21678
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Dongle

PostTue Mar 05, 2024 2:20 am

BM wouldn't help you anyway if you don't have the original serial number from the invoice.
The hardware number doesn't matter.
Now that the cat #19 is out of the bag, test it as much as you can and use the subforum.

Studio 18.6.6, MacOS 13.6.6, 2017 iMac, 32 GB, Radeon Pro 580
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPhone 15 Pro
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Bruce Phung, Google [Bot], Lucius Snow, panos_mts and 140 guests